Anadama Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
This recipe made a light, flavorful loaf of bread! I followed the recipe, but did the kneading in my KA mixer. I made one large round loaf, it baked perfectly in 30 minutes. I can't wait to try it toasted tomorrow morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PHILLYJH
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Hurrah! This was fantastic! I haven't had the nerve to bake yeast bread in years and this came out perfect! Took longer than hour allotted in the directions to double in size the first rising, but texture is excellent and served warm with some honey butter . . . divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILLYJH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Iowa, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I did the recipie just as directed and it turned out so yummy and perfect. Thanks! This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
really yummy & easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
This was super good and I'll be making it again. Next time, though, I think I'll add some cardamom or corriader just to spice it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
great bread. I had trouble making the cornmeal smooth, but I think it was my fault for leaving it on the burner and not checking back soon. You can't tell when you eat the bread though, and it is delicious. I think next time I will double the recipe and see what happens. Not sure why people are saying that the proportions are off. They were perfect. You just have to realize that when you are making bread, you can't force all of the flour into it. I only wish it made more! I brought half of the loaf into work, and by lunch it was gone. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
This is a great Anadama bread - made just as directed! A winner in our house. CookinMama should submit her version as a new recipe - I am sure it is good - and look forward to trying it soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
It took 2 days to rise, and even then, came out rather hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Of the three Anadama recipes I've used, this is my favorite. I added some wheat flour because I think Ananadama is better that way. I doubled the recipe, keeping a little dough out for a breakfast of "fried bread dough" which is a family favorite. (Just make a thin patty of dough and fry it slowly in butter. Serve with butter and jelly.) It fried nicely with a crispy edge and was excellent with apricot jelly. the rest made a tall and beautiful loaf. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Castle Rock, Washington, USA
Living In: Kelso, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
This is a wonderfully hearty bread that will bring back memories of days gone by! Rich flavor and easy to make in bread maker too! Thanks for sharing one of my favorite recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States