Anadama Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I agree with a previous reviewer that the dry/wet proportions are completely off. I had to add about an extra 1.5 cups of flour. Unfortunately, I was already kneading while I had to do this which ended up in a sticky, doughy mess! It turned out ok afterward. I probably won't be making this again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
As is the proportions seem wrong. I made this with 3 cups flour (1 cup whole wheat flour, 2 cups bread flour) 1/3 cup fine ground cornmeal, 1 pkg quick rise yeast, 1 cup hot water, 1/4 cup blackstrap molasses (we love hardy molasses), 3 TB butter, 1 tsp salt and 1 egg. Use warm water (120-130 degrees F)since we used quick rise yeast (aka rapid rise). Baked at 350 for 30 minutes. We are in Anadama heaven! I also did not soak the cornmeal since I used finely ground cornmeal--but even so the crunch is pleasant. I also did not knead this dough--dough will be sticky, just place in 2qt well greased round casserole dish and cover with plastic wrap sprayed with cooking spray and let rise for about 1hr. Using the above measurements and changes this is a 5 star Anadama Bread recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
this was just too dark and a little dry for my tastes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thompson Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
This is my daughters favorite bread. She askes me to make it for every one of her birthday dinners. I end up using more water while cooking the corn meal mush. I also use a little less than 1/2 C. molasses. The recipe makes one huge loaf that stays nice and soft. Delicious toast, great for sandwiches if it lasts that long. It's simple to make and we love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
Very inaccurate measurement of liquids to dry ingredients. I've been baking bread for years and most bread recipes call for approx. 1 1/2 cups liquid to 4 cups flour, but this calls for 1 1/4 cups water PLUS 1/2 cup molasses to 3 cups flour and 1/4 cup cornmeal. Needed to add about 1 cup extra flour and it turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
LOVE THIS BREAD!!!! I made it for the first time yesterday. It was AWESOME!!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2003
I like this anadama bread a little less than the other anadama recipe (Eleanor Johnson's, which I make without the blueberries), but that's probably just personal preference. This one is more dense, not as feathery light. It gets a hard crust, which is good. You can taste the molasses more in this one than you can in Eleanor's as well, which isn't necessarily a selling point for me but might be for some folks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
This bread was excellent! As with most breads I make, I adapted the recipe to use sourdough and the result was out of this world. The molasses makes the bread sweet without being cloying, and the cormeal gives it a delightful texture. I doubled the recipe to make two loaves and every last crumb of bread has been eaten -- the family loved it! I'm making this again next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pillowtrot

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
MMmmmm... very hearty, nice & dense, and just sweet enough - especially with a tiny bit of butter. This is great with a soup or stew (we had boiled cabbage with potatoes and sausage) - a perfect combo! It's also nice & quick, as homemade bread goes. We really enjoy it hot from the oven, but I seriously doubt we'll have any left over to try it toasted... We'll be making this often in our house. Thanks for the recipe! (By the way, how the heck is this pronounced?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2002
Awesome!! I ate the whole thing myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSDORKY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Islip, New York, USA
Living In: Portola Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States