Anadama Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Amazing!! I made this in my bread machine and it still turned out great!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
I am new at making bread and i thought this bread was easy to make and delicious. I followed the recipe exactly except i baked it at 350 instead of 375 for 30 minutes. I havn't had anadama bread since my favorite breakfast place closed a few years ago. I had forgotten how much i enjoyed it. It makes fantastic toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Comfort food at it's best! The legend says that a man wanted his wife to make some bread. She refused. He said, "Anna D*** her!" The name got shortened as the recipe spread. It's a traditional New England bread, and I love it! It's sweet, dense, and wholesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
I have never had this bread before, so I have nothing to compare this recipe against. But, I found it to be too dense for my taste. It did not form a nice "crusty" crust for me that I like - and was really chewy inside... almost to the point of seeming not quite cooked enough. Wasn't blown away by the flavor of this bread either - so I don't think I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
Excellent bread-- been making it for ten years... Did you know that this dough also makes the best "doughboys" (fried dough) EVER ??!! Just form it into a piece about 1/4-inch thick-- shape how you wish. I just make them oblong. Deep fry in 350 deg oil --just until golden-brown, turn over for a minute or 2 more on the other side. Place on a cooling-rack over a cookie-sheet... sprinkle with confectioners sugar or cinnamon-sugar. Serve warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
I'm a fan of the NYT no-knead bread method and applied it to this recipe. This means, I mixed the dough with a little extra water (about a cup total), used a teaspoon of instant yeast (which I don't bother to mix with water first--just add yeast to dry ingredients and water with wet ingredients) rather than the active dry yeast, then let it rise for 8 hours. I turned it out on a generously floured board, floured the top, let it rest for 10 min. or so. Then folded it over on itself several times and gathered it into a ball. I put it on parchment paper and let it rise another couple of hours covered by a cloth napkin. I then scored the top of the loaf with a razor and baked it in a dutch oven that had been heated in the oven--I lowered the loaf into the pot holding onto the edges of the parchment. I baked at 450 rather than 375, about 25 minutes with the lid on, 10 with the lid off. Also, I used a full 3 cups of flour--right from the beginning (a mixture of 2/3 bread flour, 1/3 whole wheat flour), then a little extra as indicated. The bread does not have the crusty crust of most artisan breads, and it actually wasn't my favorite bread (I'm partial to the plain old flour and water variety). But it was well received by some at dinner and the recipe and technique were highly successful. It was not nearly as dense as I expected. It rose very nicely and created a beautiful loaf. I would not even attempt this bread if you don't have very good molasses available to you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
This was a good, good bread recipe, and very satisfying. The texture is moist and chewy with a relatively fine crumb. It is not too sweet. The top of the loaf darkens nicely but the crust is not too hard. Other reviewers have mentioned the proportions in the recipe being off, but I did not personally find that to be the case. Different flours offer different absorbency, and of course anything with flour is affected by humidity. If you just trust your instincts rather than blaming the recipe, you'll have good results. I did add about 1/2 c. extra flour while kneading as it did feel a bit too sticky. However, it came together nicely after only about 5 minutes of hand kneading rather than the 8 suggested in teh recipe. Also, the cook time in my oven was slightly shorter than the 30 minutes listed. My suggestion is to set the timer for 25 minutes, then give it a tap and put it in for the remaining five if it seems underdone. This bread recipe is now one that will go in my rotation of breads, and will become a gift-giving bread as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buxton, Maine, USA
Living In: Porter, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Very good, tastes even better toasted the next day. Don't be alarmed if some spots still look a bit moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
A new family favorite. Excellent toasted and with coffee. THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
The bread had a great taste. Unfortunately I couldn't get it to rise properly. I tried three times (with brand new yeast -active and then the quick rise) and the bread just never took off. Next time I might double the yeast. Even though it was a little doughy in the middle it still made great french toast and grilled cheese sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States