Amy's Spicy Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2001
This dish is great if you like spicy. It goes great with chiken and steak as well. Or you can have it alone wth a nice salad. (Goes great with Greek salad). I like to add a bit of garlic to mine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2001
We thought it was pretty flavorless. It needs either meat or more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
This was easy but I have to agree I did not think it was spicy at all. It would be good to serve with some type of spicy meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
My family loved this dish. A very satisfying meal. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2002
Pretty good. I like mine a little spicier. Might add garlic next time and more hot stuff. Still reminded me of Texmex beans. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Groton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2002
I should have gone with my instincts. I thought it was strange to leave the beans UNDRAINED, but I followed the recipe anyway. It was terrible. It was incredibly watery. We tried straining it through a slatted spoon as we served it, but though this removed the excess liquid, it also strained away most of the spices, making it flavorless. We ate a few bites and chucked the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
After reading the reviews, I drained most of the liquid from the beans. The whole family enjoyed this and my son thought it was excellent. He rarely likes anything I cook. I did add a cubed cooked chicken breast to make my hubby happy. Next time will add some more chicken and my son asked to add more black olives next time too. Thank you Amy for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
I drained the juice from the beans as suggested by other reviews-big mistake! The beans were too dry. The flavor was great! I loved them but I would say LEAVE THE JUICE!! This is definetely one of my favorite side dishes nad I will make many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2003
Very simple but very tasty. I added an extra jalapeno for more flavor and my meat loving husband ate it and even wanted more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
This was ok....just not that good. We didn't enjoy it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States