Amy's Spicy Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
I used a 9x13x2 pan, didn't drain, and didn't cover. The consistency came out nice and creamy. The flavor is good and wholesome tasting, though not spectacular. But this might be because instead of chili powder, I used cayenne pepper. I'll probably surf around and try out some more black bean recipes before making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
Thank you for sharing this recipe. I brought it to a potluck and everyone loved it. The brown rice gave it a nutty texture. I gave the leftovers to a friend and the next day she served it over scrambled eggs. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beverly, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hayward, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
I love this recipe!! I doubled it and then also doubled the rice so it was 2 cups uncooked rice to 4 cans black beans and took it to a church lunch. I added extra cumin and some garlic salt. I did not drain the bean juice and cooked the beans as suggested then put the rice in a 9 x 13 dish and the seasoned beans on top. I only topped with the cheese and gr. onions since my hubby does not like olives. It was a big hit at the church lunch and I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
Excellent, easy to make and tasted great. I added half a cup of medium salsa and will switch to 1 1/2 cups of salsa next time and skip the jalepeno. I also added a tsp of garlic and only 1/2 tsp of cumin because of personal preference. I didn't have black pepper and used cayenne instead. This was healthy and very flavourful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sexsmith, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2005
This is excellent. I used black beans and white rice, since I didn't have any brown. It seemed soupy when it came out of the oven, but once you put it over the rice, it's perfect. And very easy, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
Kay, I'm not going to rate it, b/c I changed it alot, so I dont think my finished product turned out the same as the intended product. But it was still freaking awesome :) Cooked 1/2 can of black, and 1/2 can of red beans on stove over low simmer for about 30 min (w/ about 1/2 the juice from each can) with cayenne pepper (little more than a tablespoon) cumin (little less than recipe stated), 1/2 a can of green chilies (instead of jalapenos) and a couple of good dashes of garlic salt. After bout 30 min added some spicy sausage and let all that simmer for about another 10 min, then added the cooked rice and stired it all together. Served with Authentic Mexican Cornbread from this site. Yum :) nice and spicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
This was really good... I too drained about half of the liquid, but I later wished I'd kept all of the liquid because I personally don't like semi-dry beans and rice. But it was a very good recipe! The only other change I made was to omit the black olives because the hubby doesn't like them (oh, and I used two jalapenos from a can because I couldn't find fresh!). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
Gosh I'm glad (most) everyone liked my dish!! Just wanted to add that lately I've been adding about a 1/2 cup of salsa to the beans before baking them---yummy! Bake it a little longer so its not too watery. Also, I've tried using chili beans (in the sauce); that works too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2004
this should please even bean-haters! I was helped by all the reviews; i ended up keeping just a little of the drained bean juice, I added garlic and extra green onion and put extra cheese on top. If you don't drain all the bean juice and you let it sit for any amount of time, the rice will absorb the juice. Cilantro as a garnish after it is cooked is nice also but not necessary. I mixed the beans and rice first before cooking also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2004
This was a great recipe and easy to follow too. I impressed everyone with this dish, and would probably make it even hotter next time! Might try draining some of the bean juice to lower the sodium a bit, and I thought it needed more like a cup of rice for the amount of beans there were...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States