Amy's Spicy Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
Very good, easy, and healthy. This one made our "tried-and-true" list. :) After the first time, though, I decided that jarred jalapenos were better than fresh - so I didn't get pepper oil in my eyes (OUCH!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dinwiddie, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
Very tasty and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
This recipe was excellent. I did not have fresh jalapeno peppers, so I used about 1/4 cup from a jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
I made this last night and it was WONDERFUL! I used the salsa as well which gave it a nice flavor. I would make this again, and it was so cheap too, I didnt use the cheese or sour cream on top and it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
Easy to make and tasted great! I added in some sausage we had leftover and omitted the onions and olives. Also used three cups of just made black beans in place of the canned. Served over salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
Pretty good, felt like it was lacking something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
I love this! We've made it several times, only I add a pound of pan fried chicken, three jalopenos and twice the amount of olives, and add fresh green onions as a garnish instead of baking them with the beans. It is super simple and cheap- I follow the recipe's original serving size and we have enough for a few lunches and dinners- it's hearty and very filling! I eat the beans and rice topped with salsa, sour cream and chives. My husband and son put the mixture into tortillas and make burritos- this is a family favorite - we make it about once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raiven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
This recipe was great!! I love trying new things out on my husband who, by the way, loves spanish food. This was great. We had no left overs. The only thing I suggest is that if you like alittle extra rice make some b/c this was just enough for 4 in my house. yum! Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, New York, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
This was really good. I used green pepper and some salsa instead of jalepenos. I added chicken for my husband's serving and we both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
I made this the other night with a few additions: I first sauteed onions with chorizo sausage, then added the beans and seasonings as listed with the addition of some salsa since I had no jalapeno on hand. It was a yummy dinner and equally yummy lunch at work today. I prefer a little spice so I added some hot sauce when I served it, but otherwise it was very good. Boyfriend liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States