Amy's Spicy Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
I've made this a couple of times now. Tasty and easy to prepare. Served with tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam R-H

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Karen, Nairobi, Kenya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
It was very easy to make and smelled really great while it was cooking, but i thought the end affect lacked flavor. It was spicy but that was all we pretty much tasted. Overall, i liked it as a side dish (ala' red beans and rice style) but not as the main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
I changed these just a little -- I didn't have any brown rice, so I used regular. I added 1/2 cup canned tomatoes with green chili peppers, and diced some polish sausage, sauteed it, and mixed it in. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sneedville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
Pretty good. A little bland. I ended up wrapping this along with some chicken and salsa into some whole-wheat tortillas. The idea was great, and I think I'll spice it up a little more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
I used a can of black beans and a can of dark kidney beans (because I did not have enough black beans). I used garlic, omitted the onions and olives. I also added cooked chicken and a few tablespoons of salsa. My 7 year old gobbled it up, but the 3 and 5 year olds were unimpressed. I think this is a keeper, but I think I will have to wait until i am done nursing because the baby was up all night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
I used 1 16oz can of red kidney and a 24oz can of pinto beans for this. Used 2 habanero peppers instead of the jalapenos because I knew they wouldn't be spicy enough. I then added the cooked rice into the casserole dish. After 30 minutes I put the cheese, olives and chives(instead of green onions)and another 1/2 cup of cheese on top. Only put it back in for 2-3 minutes because the cheese was melted. It was still so hot after sitting on the table for 10 minutes we couldn't eat it. I would suggest letting it sit for about 20 minutes before you want to eat it. Ours was very creamy and spicy. It is an easy, quick, nutritious meal that I will definitely make again. 4* only because I changed a few things!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
I thought this was very good. I added some bacon pieces, and my husband added some hot sauce. I will definitely make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Viburnum, Missouri, USA
Living In: Carlinville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
This was an ok dish. It did need a bit more flavor. But it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zsazsa Gardea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
I made this with regular white rice and yellow onions as that's what I had on hand. I also threw in some sliced pre-cooked garlic and jalepeno chicken sausage to make it more of a meal. I don't like the texture of undrained, unrinsed black beans, but the mixture was rather dry, so I added in half a can of diced tomatoes with as much juice as I could squeeze out. Turned out pretty good. Thanks, Amy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
This was a little bland, but it has potential. It was also an easy weeknight dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States