Amy's Spicy Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
i doubled the spices added chopped onions and threw in some hot sauce and a tbsp of sourcream! tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Because I love the typical Puerto Rican style of red beans and rice, I used kidney beans instead of black beans and added sofrito in addition to the seasonings suggested. I omitted the cheese to make a vegan version of the dish. It was delicious, but not what I would call spicy. Next time, I will add more heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I make this all the time! I cook the un-drained beans on the stove top, in a pot. Adding the peppers and spices. I'll sometimes substitute the rice for quinoa (depending on what I have in the pantry). I top it off with diced tomatoes, avocado, fresh made salsa, and a spoon of sour cream instead of the grated cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Tasty and healthy with great flavors-- I think instead of baking the beans I will just heat them on the stove next time (less time and easier cleanup!) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Easy to reduce sodium! Simply drain the beans, rinse, then add approx 1 cup of low sodium chicken or vegetable broth, preferrably homemade. This will keep the beans from drying out, and creates a nice 'sauce' when put over the rice. I also took one of the previous suggestions and sauteed up some onion and garlic, along with half a red pepper, and added it to the beans. Delicious recipe, will definitely make it again. Thanks Amy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Instead of the black beans I used red beans and let me tell you this turned out AMAZING!!!! My father-in-law thinks I am the best cook ever! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saginaw, Texas, USA
Living In: Hurst, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Great recipe! I drained the beans and I added a packet of taco seasoning! Thanks for a super recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This was really good! I added some shredded rotisserie chicken on top. Be careful of the chili powder & jalapenos - my husband thought it was too spicy after a few bites, but this was easily fixed by adding beans to it. Also, we topped if off with a dollop of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Davidson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
As written, this is about 3 stars because it isn't all that flavorful, it's too liquid-y, and it calls for too little rice for this amount of beans. I made more rice, drained the beans, then added salsa, garlic, and lime juice (which takes care of the dryness other reviewers had mentioned). I also increased the cumin powder to 2 1/2 tsp. and left out the olives (never liked them). With these changes, it is a great, filling dish that has plenty of flavor. I'll make it again, but with the changes mentioned above.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Not enough flavour. Quite plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States