Amy's Spicy Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2003
Wonderful dish. Can't wait to make this again. Served with a grilled chicken breast recipe from this site and loved every bite of both. I used canned jalapenos (about 2) and it was plenty spicy. And we like really spicy food. Also added more chedder cheese (I only had mild, instead of sharp). Next time I might add some fresh cilantro on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
After reading the reviews, I drained most of the liquid from the beans. The whole family enjoyed this and my son thought it was excellent. He rarely likes anything I cook. I did add a cubed cooked chicken breast to make my hubby happy. Next time will add some more chicken and my son asked to add more black olives next time too. Thank you Amy for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
I drained the juice from the beans as suggested by other reviews-big mistake! The beans were too dry. The flavor was great! I loved them but I would say LEAVE THE JUICE!! This is definetely one of my favorite side dishes nad I will make many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2001
This dish is great if you like spicy. It goes great with chiken and steak as well. Or you can have it alone wth a nice salad. (Goes great with Greek salad). I like to add a bit of garlic to mine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
My family loved this dish. A very satisfying meal. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2003
Very simple but very tasty. I added an extra jalapeno for more flavor and my meat loving husband ate it and even wanted more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2004
This was a great recipe and easy to follow too. I impressed everyone with this dish, and would probably make it even hotter next time! Might try draining some of the bean juice to lower the sodium a bit, and I thought it needed more like a cup of rice for the amount of beans there were...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
Gosh I'm glad (most) everyone liked my dish!! Just wanted to add that lately I've been adding about a 1/2 cup of salsa to the beans before baking them---yummy! Bake it a little longer so its not too watery. Also, I've tried using chili beans (in the sauce); that works too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
Excellent, easy to make and tasted great. I added half a cup of medium salsa and will switch to 1 1/2 cups of salsa next time and skip the jalepeno. I also added a tsp of garlic and only 1/2 tsp of cumin because of personal preference. I didn't have black pepper and used cayenne instead. This was healthy and very flavourful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Sheppard
Home Town: Sexsmith, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
I love this recipe!! I doubled it and then also doubled the rice so it was 2 cups uncooked rice to 4 cans black beans and took it to a church lunch. I added extra cumin and some garlic salt. I did not drain the bean juice and cooked the beans as suggested then put the rice in a 9 x 13 dish and the seasoned beans on top. I only topped with the cheese and gr. onions since my hubby does not like olives. It was a big hit at the church lunch and I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States