Amy's Spicy Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2007
I am a huge fan of EASY, fast, and nutritious meals -- and this is one of them! The only changes I made were to use bottled peppers like someone else mentioned in the reviews; eliminated the olives (just because I don't like them); and used Thai long grain rice (since I have a gigantic bag of the stuff). I don't like super hot meals, but this dish was a flavourful heat. I found myself adding a bit more jalapenos each time! Don't make the mistake I did at first though -- I drained the black beans. It was still good but it is oh so delicious on rice with more sauce! I make a pile of this stuff, and dole it out as a snack, sidedish, or main meal with salad. I also did what someone else suggested: sautee some onions and garlic and add it to the beans -- YUM!! Thanks for a quick recipe with minimum dishes to clean up afterwards!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
After reading the reviews, I drained most of the liquid from the beans. The whole family enjoyed this and my son thought it was excellent. He rarely likes anything I cook. I did add a cubed cooked chicken breast to make my hubby happy. Next time will add some more chicken and my son asked to add more black olives next time too. Thank you Amy for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
I drained the juice from the beans as suggested by other reviews-big mistake! The beans were too dry. The flavor was great! I loved them but I would say LEAVE THE JUICE!! This is definetely one of my favorite side dishes nad I will make many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
This was easy but I have to agree I did not think it was spicy at all. It would be good to serve with some type of spicy meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
I made this with regular white rice and yellow onions as that's what I had on hand. I also threw in some sliced pre-cooked garlic and jalepeno chicken sausage to make it more of a meal. I don't like the texture of undrained, unrinsed black beans, but the mixture was rather dry, so I added in half a can of diced tomatoes with as much juice as I could squeeze out. Turned out pretty good. Thanks, Amy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
This is a great recipe. I did make some additions that I think just added to it. I sauteed some chopped onion and garlic and added to the beans along with the other ingredients. Also added cheese,green onion, olives, cilantro, shredded lettuce and sour cream on top but did not put it back in the oven just left it "fresh". Serve with some tortilla chips to scoop...Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2002
I should have gone with my instincts. I thought it was strange to leave the beans UNDRAINED, but I followed the recipe anyway. It was terrible. It was incredibly watery. We tried straining it through a slatted spoon as we served it, but though this removed the excess liquid, it also strained away most of the spices, making it flavorless. We ate a few bites and chucked the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2001
This dish is great if you like spicy. It goes great with chiken and steak as well. Or you can have it alone wth a nice salad. (Goes great with Greek salad). I like to add a bit of garlic to mine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2002
Pretty good. I like mine a little spicier. Might add garlic next time and more hot stuff. Still reminded me of Texmex beans. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Groton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
Gosh I'm glad (most) everyone liked my dish!! Just wanted to add that lately I've been adding about a 1/2 cup of salsa to the beans before baking them---yummy! Bake it a little longer so its not too watery. Also, I've tried using chili beans (in the sauce); that works too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States