Amy's Spicy Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
This was a little bland, but it has potential. It was also an easy weeknight dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
I don't like the slimy juice in the cans of black beans, so I used one drained can of black beans and one undrained can of chili beans. I only put jalapenos on half, so my husband and I, as well as my picky kids, ate it right up. We used instant brown rice, and increased it to 2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
Wasn't impressed, needed alot more seasoning, could be better with some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
I am a huge fan of EASY, fast, and nutritious meals -- and this is one of them! The only changes I made were to use bottled peppers like someone else mentioned in the reviews; eliminated the olives (just because I don't like them); and used Thai long grain rice (since I have a gigantic bag of the stuff). I don't like super hot meals, but this dish was a flavourful heat. I found myself adding a bit more jalapenos each time! Don't make the mistake I did at first though -- I drained the black beans. It was still good but it is oh so delicious on rice with more sauce! I make a pile of this stuff, and dole it out as a snack, sidedish, or main meal with salad. I also did what someone else suggested: sautee some onions and garlic and add it to the beans -- YUM!! Thanks for a quick recipe with minimum dishes to clean up afterwards!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
Very good! I added a spoonful of sour cream on top, and it cooled the spices off just enough to really enjoy it! I don't think the brown rice needs to be cooked for 40 minutes though... I bought a box of instant brown rice, and only needed about 15 to be cooked completely. Otherwise you just burn the rice. I thought the large quantity of beans would overpower the taste, but it definitely did not. I will make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
Really enjoyed this dish. I didn't have the jalapeno peppers and it still tasted great. My 4 and 7 year olds really liked it too! Will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
liked it though I usually like stuff a little saucier. Good because it is simple, will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juno_lake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
This is a great recipe. I did make some additions that I think just added to it. I sauteed some chopped onion and garlic and added to the beans along with the other ingredients. Also added cheese,green onion, olives, cilantro, shredded lettuce and sour cream on top but did not put it back in the oven just left it "fresh". Serve with some tortilla chips to scoop...Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
I was really happy with this recipe. I added some sauteed veggies to kind of bump up the nutritional value (onion, portabella, red and green bell pepper, zucchini). The only problem I had was the rice, but I have a tough time with brown rice sometimes. Anyhow, I thought it was delicious and I could actually see this as a great burrito filling. Excellent and I will definately use this recipe again. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ranessa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
Excellent & easy. I added cilantro and it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States