Amy's Spicy Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Foodie Family
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
cut out the black olives,used chiles and served over white rice with jerk chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
This recipe was great! I read the reviews before cooking, so I added about twice the chili powder and cumin, and we left off the cheese at the end because we were using the beans in burritos. Excellent accompaniment to a good spiced chicken recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
This was a very good recipe, the only reason I am only giving it 3 stars was because I made a few changes. I used day old rice from the night before and put that in the bottom of the dish, then added rinsed and drained black beans, along with diced tomatoes with the juice and I added a little less than a 1/4 cup of water for more liquid. I cooked that for about 20 minutes then added onions and cheese. I will make this again with the changes I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Landisville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Daniel
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
This is a very good recipe! I followed the instructions as indicated with the exception of the black olives since I didn't have any. I replaced them with green olives. For those like me who like their food hot and spicy, this hits the spot. However, for those who like their food a bit milder tasting, I would suggest to skip the chili pepper in the black bean mixture. Next time, instead of using brown rice, I'll be using par-broiled rice. For some reason, brown rice doesn't appeal to my palate. Besides that, this recipe is quite good and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casselman, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I tried one can of black beans and one can of garbanzo. I enjoyed the recipe very much. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
We're not vegetarians, so I added sliced turkey smoked sausage. It was great over jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Awesome easy recipe! So easy to adapt to one's own taste and ingredients on hand. I avoided the "drain beans or not" debate, because I make beans from scratch to avoid too much sodium. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This is one of my favorite meatless meals to make. I fell in love with brown rice after trying this recipe-at first I was a little apprehensive about it. I didn't have any jalapeños but I just about added every hot spice that I own and it was delicious! I did not drain the black beans and it was still great I thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This recipe was easy to make and nice with cornbread. Add more spice for a better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Splendora, Texas, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
I used black pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, Adobo, cumin, and hot sauce. I added shredded cheddar cheese as directed. I don't have jalapeno peppers on hand, I hate olives, and I was too lazy to cut up onions. I forgot to add salt, but it tasted decent to me. I ate it with coconut jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States