Amy's Spicy Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2004
this should please even bean-haters! I was helped by all the reviews; i ended up keeping just a little of the drained bean juice, I added garlic and extra green onion and put extra cheese on top. If you don't drain all the bean juice and you let it sit for any amount of time, the rice will absorb the juice. Cilantro as a garnish after it is cooked is nice also but not necessary. I mixed the beans and rice first before cooking also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2004
This was a great recipe and easy to follow too. I impressed everyone with this dish, and would probably make it even hotter next time! Might try draining some of the bean juice to lower the sodium a bit, and I thought it needed more like a cup of rice for the amount of beans there were...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2004
This was pretty good but I ended up making them spicier by adding some green chili peppers, garlic, and onion powder. I drained and rinsed the beans, put them in a pot, cooked on top of the stove in a little beef bouillon, just didn't see need for the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2003
Wonderful dish. Can't wait to make this again. Served with a grilled chicken breast recipe from this site and loved every bite of both. I used canned jalapenos (about 2) and it was plenty spicy. And we like really spicy food. Also added more chedder cheese (I only had mild, instead of sharp). Next time I might add some fresh cilantro on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2003
This is the ultimate desperation dinner--quick and easy with minimal clean-up. I used a mixture of black beans and kidney beans (do NOT drain the beans and bake uncovered) and added a healthy splash of red wine vinegar and three cloves minced garlic for a little extra flavor. It was still a bit bland for my taste, but that was easily remedied with some Tabasco. I only had Arborio rice, so the finished dish was quite creamy once I topped it with low-fat sour cream and cheddar cheese, but the texture and flavor were great! My picky husband was *impressed* and I had a really tasty dinner that provided enough left-overs for next day's lunch. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
This was ok....just not that good. We didn't enjoy it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2003
Very simple but very tasty. I added an extra jalapeno for more flavor and my meat loving husband ate it and even wanted more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
I drained the juice from the beans as suggested by other reviews-big mistake! The beans were too dry. The flavor was great! I loved them but I would say LEAVE THE JUICE!! This is definetely one of my favorite side dishes nad I will make many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
After reading the reviews, I drained most of the liquid from the beans. The whole family enjoyed this and my son thought it was excellent. He rarely likes anything I cook. I did add a cubed cooked chicken breast to make my hubby happy. Next time will add some more chicken and my son asked to add more black olives next time too. Thank you Amy for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2002
I should have gone with my instincts. I thought it was strange to leave the beans UNDRAINED, but I followed the recipe anyway. It was terrible. It was incredibly watery. We tried straining it through a slatted spoon as we served it, but though this removed the excess liquid, it also strained away most of the spices, making it flavorless. We ate a few bites and chucked the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States