Amy's Sausage Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I use one pound finely chopped pork sausage, one can of comstock special apple pie filling, one cup sharp cheddar cheese, and 1 cup of "light brown sugar"......goes in like this..bottom crust, apples, sausage, light brown sugar sprinkled across, cheddar cheese...lay on top crust then give it 5 slits to breathe.....the BROWN SUGAR is the key...sets the rest off. Anyway...this is a Great Holiday Breakfast(or Blinner/Blupper etc) Cheers!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I've never given a recipe a "1" before but this just was not good. Made it based on so many good reviews but -- sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This is a great-tasting recipe that is really very simple to make. The combination of pork sausage and apples is classic, and the cheddar cheese just makes it better. Be sure to use sharp cheddar... the flavor blends better than mild. I WILL be making this again. Thanks for the wonderful meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HongKongCV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
This is an excellent recipe. My kids aren't big sausage fans, but even they said it was good. I personally thought it was better than good. I like spicy foods and since the kids (at the age where they don't like much) only thought it was " ok", next time I will make it with a good hot sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Umatilla, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I have to admit I had my doubts about this recipe but it was a huge hit & I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This recipe is so simple and DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Sidnac
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This is a very unique dish and I love the way it combines the sweet and savoury flavours together. For those of you who think that the combination of sausage and apple sounds unappealing, don't forget that many people love apple sauce with their pork or cranberry sauce with their turkey. This recipe might not be for everyone but I liked it and so did my b/f. I only made a couple of small changes to the recipe. One was that I made my own apple pie filling, and the other one was that I used extra pork sausage to make this into a larger pie. Not sure how much cheese I used, although it's quite possible I may have used more than what is called for here because I didn't measure it - I just covered the pie with what I thought was a good amount of cheese. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Amy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Made this for a church brunch, but with homemade pie filling and sweet Italian sausage. The folks raved about it - even my kids who were saying "Ewww!" the whole time I was putting the pie together. ;o) It's getting 4 stars, though, b/c I felt the flavor was lacking...something. It was extremely good, just not *fabulous*. I will certainly keep this on file to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
The perfect dish for Autumn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KellyJoy
Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States