Amy's Po' Man Green Beans and Sausage Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
This is one of my DH and DS favorite meals. I made it on the stovetop rather than the crock-pot because of time restraints. I did add an onion to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
5 stars IF you reduce the cooking time drastically. I can't imagine letting it cook as long as this recipe calls for. Just throw it all in a large pot with your favorite broth/stock and simmer until the vegs are as tender as you like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
I grew up on this recipe. Love it! We cook ours in a crock pot on low. The idea is to get the sausage flavor into the green beans and the potatoes. The extra time allows the potatoes to cook until they are soft. I use canned green beans instead, and just use the water that is in the can do keep everything from drying up. Onions are a great addition and cornbread is a must on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meomiah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I love the idea of this recipe,except for the long cooking process. I cooked the beans till tender crisp and set aside. I like the potatoes to be a little bit more golden brown, so I started those first and then added the sausage to brown, return the beans to the skillet and heat through. I also made corn bread to go with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I made this because my husband grew up eating fresh green beans that were slow cooked all day. I personally don't care for mushy green beans. I followed the recipe exactly except for when the beans were done cooking, I had to leave the house for close to 3 hours. I just let it sit but was concerned. Got home, added the sausage & potatoes, cooked for 2 hours. Put in fridge overnight and warmed & served next day with Easter dinner. Everyone who ate it said it was delicious and there was hardly any left! Easy to make, just a time factor. But making the day before made it easier & worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
I grew up on a dish similar to this only we used smoked pork shoulders or cuts like that. Bacon fat was thrown in for good measure.A dish always full of flavor and very often used as Sunday dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Photo by pinkneen111
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I didn't make this exactly as written but they way I made it I give it 4 stars. I didn't have hours to make this dish so instead I steam cooked my green beans separately. While they were steaming I started cooking my potatoes in a skillet with 1/2 an onion and 1 T. of butter. When my potatoes were almost done I added a green bell pepper, the green beans, and salt and pepper to taste. Served with some corn bread and the whole fam ate it up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkneen111

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Dayton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Okay. I make this all the time. But I figured I would put some tips on here. I cook my beans all day because we like them soft. If you want them firm only cook for about 4-5 hours. Cook the ingredient in chicken stock. Bouillon is okay, but stock from the box is much better. Also we've found that Eckrich sausage is our favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Eastepp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Wasn't sure how to rate because I make this (with an onion added) in my pressure cooker. About 15 minutes once the pressure cooker is singing. I have even used canned green beans on a busy evening and tried different kinds of sausages. One of my husbands favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Crawfordsville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I wasn't expecting much from this recipes as it was fairly simple. The only thing I added was onion because my family likes it. I will say the first day I made it, no one ate any because it was pretty bland. I reheated it in the oven the next night and invited company over hoping to get rid of it. It was much much better the next day. I'm not sure that it's something I will just want to make again; but if I do, it will definitely be made ahead and used after sitting to absorb all the flavor. The company really liked it. I would like to say that we ate this as a side dish and not a mai course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Stanton, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States