Amy's Po' Man Green Beans and Sausage Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Green beans turned into mush with the long cooking time--a waste of perfectly good fresh beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Wasn't sure how to rate because I make this (with an onion added) in my pressure cooker. About 15 minutes once the pressure cooker is singing. I have even used canned green beans on a busy evening and tried different kinds of sausages. One of my husbands favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Crawfordsville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Sounded delicious and southern, minus the extremely long cooking time. I initially simmered the green beans for only 45 minutes (adding 1/2 tsp. red pepper flakes to the water), then added the smoked sausage and potatoes and simmered another 45 minutes. Green beans were cooked, the potatoes were overcooked. I can't imagine cooking this for 6 hours!! However, the smoked sausage flavor didn't transfer to the beans and potatoes, husband complained that the smoked sausage was "mushy", and even with the addition of red pepper flakes it didn't have much flavor. Disappointed since I love southern cooking. Maybe the addition of a little bacon grease to the water would help the flavor?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
I grew up on this recipe. Love it! We cook ours in a crock pot on low. The idea is to get the sausage flavor into the green beans and the potatoes. The extra time allows the potatoes to cook until they are soft. I use canned green beans instead, and just use the water that is in the can do keep everything from drying up. Onions are a great addition and cornbread is a must on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meomiah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Okay. I make this all the time. But I figured I would put some tips on here. I cook my beans all day because we like them soft. If you want them firm only cook for about 4-5 hours. Cook the ingredient in chicken stock. Bouillon is okay, but stock from the box is much better. Also we've found that Eckrich sausage is our favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Eastepp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
This is one of my DH and DS favorite meals. I made it on the stovetop rather than the crock-pot because of time restraints. I did add an onion to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I wasn't expecting much from this recipes as it was fairly simple. The only thing I added was onion because my family likes it. I will say the first day I made it, no one ate any because it was pretty bland. I reheated it in the oven the next night and invited company over hoping to get rid of it. It was much much better the next day. I'm not sure that it's something I will just want to make again; but if I do, it will definitely be made ahead and used after sitting to absorb all the flavor. The company really liked it. I would like to say that we ate this as a side dish and not a mai course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Stanton, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
I grew up on a dish similar to this only we used smoked pork shoulders or cuts like that. Bacon fat was thrown in for good measure.A dish always full of flavor and very often used as Sunday dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I made this because my husband grew up eating fresh green beans that were slow cooked all day. I personally don't care for mushy green beans. I followed the recipe exactly except for when the beans were done cooking, I had to leave the house for close to 3 hours. I just let it sit but was concerned. Got home, added the sausage & potatoes, cooked for 2 hours. Put in fridge overnight and warmed & served next day with Easter dinner. Everyone who ate it said it was delicious and there was hardly any left! Easy to make, just a time factor. But making the day before made it easier & worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
This recipe has the right idea, but I agree with many other reviewers when they say the cooking time is way too long. I make this dish nearly the same on the stove in a large pot. I start with bacon though and cook that with some chopped onion. When it is mostly cooked I add the rest, beans,potatoes,a splash of water and meat in the bacon grease(if the grease is excessive I will spoon a little out). I cook it with the lid on for only enough time to make the potatoes tender. Usually my beans are perfect too and the bacon and sausage always adds flavor. Great cheap, quick easy meal when done right! (you should not need to add salt because the bacon and sausage usually has enough!) Thanks to A. Smith for reminding me of this yummy affordable meal for my family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States