Amy's Mexican Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
This was a great soup! Perfect for a cold day. I added more red pepper and corn. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
This tastes like tortilla soup - very spicy, which I like. I didn't have tomatoes with jalapenios so i finely chopped some jalapenios from a jar. I also didn't puree the soup but left the tomato chunks (so I used diced tomatoes instead of whole ones). This tasted excellent and is a great South Beach Diet recipe as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOLMARI1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Very delicious soup, everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LowcountryJudi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
This is my new favorite soup recipe! Excellent flavor and easy to prepare. I added a few things to make it even more filling. First of all, I used two cans of diced tomatoes with Italian seasoning, undrained, instead of whole tomatoes and one can of diced tomatoes w/chilis. Then I used lots more garlic, minced (four cloves - you can never have too much garlic!) Then I added a cup of frozen corn and some leftover brown rice (probably 1 1/2 cups cooked). Lastly, I used some fresh chopped cilantro. I love rice in my soup, expecially since it absorbs the flavor and makes it hardier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
Excellent soup!!!! I did change a few things. I used a 19oz can of diced tomatoes with spicey red peppers instead of the tomatoes with green chiles, chic peas instead of kidney beans and Thai Chili Sauce instead of cayenne pepper. Will definately be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
We loved this recipe! Instead of diced tomatoes w/green chile we used a can of plain diced tomatoes and a large can of diced green chiles. we also used ancho chile powder instead of regular chile powder and an extra can of kidney beans. The chicken gets such a great flavor by simmering for so long. Perfect for a chilly evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
This was so good we even had seconds. I reduced it for two people. We loved the sour cream and cheddar. I simplified it but skipping the blending step since we like our soup chunky anyway. I added some fresh tomatoes and a little less canned ones. I also added some frozen veggies and spiced it up a bit more since we like our food hot. We'll definitely be having this again. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
This is the one dish that my family asks for regularly. I highly recommend it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
This is a great soup that's fast and easy. It taste like you cooked it all day. It's know one of our favorites on a cold day. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States