Amy's Mexican Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
This is my new favorite soup recipe! Excellent flavor and easy to prepare. I added a few things to make it even more filling. First of all, I used two cans of diced tomatoes with Italian seasoning, undrained, instead of whole tomatoes and one can of diced tomatoes w/chilis. Then I used lots more garlic, minced (four cloves - you can never have too much garlic!) Then I added a cup of frozen corn and some leftover brown rice (probably 1 1/2 cups cooked). Lastly, I used some fresh chopped cilantro. I love rice in my soup, expecially since it absorbs the flavor and makes it hardier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This is similar to the famous "soup Nazi" Chicken Chili soup. I make a version of this regularly. A couple suggestions to make it easier. 1) Brown the chicken in the soup pot, cook through and shred while you cook the aromatics in the pot. 2) Add a can of cream style corn to the soup. This is really delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I make a similar soup, though try to pack a few more vegetables in mine -- small cubed zucchini, carrot, corn and celery. Cilantro is a perfect bright accent to the soup, and I like to add small cubes of avocado as well - their buttery richness is a pleasant surprise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This is very good. The only thing I did different is, I added a can of corn. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
This tastes like tortilla soup - very spicy, which I like. I didn't have tomatoes with jalapenios so i finely chopped some jalapenios from a jar. I also didn't puree the soup but left the tomato chunks (so I used diced tomatoes instead of whole ones). This tasted excellent and is a great South Beach Diet recipe as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I fixed this dish for a pot luck dinner and everyone thought it was the best soup they have ever tasted. My family has been asking me every week to make the soup again. It's a little spicy but makes you feel warm inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
OMGoodness! This is so good, I think I am going to use this recipe to win the chili cookoff at church this year. I did add a whole jalapeno minced to the onions and the garlic. Oh, I am a cumin lover so I added a couple of tablespoons of that too, also a little paprika. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOLMARI1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
I absolutlly love this recipe, its a perfect soup for a cold fall or winter night, to warm you up, its very spicey and the colors are wonderfully festive for fall. MAKE SURE You dont put too much chiken broth it can be too salty!! and I used lots of shredded cheese and cream cheese on top, LOVED THIS MEXICAN SOUP!!!:) My family loved it as well:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I love this recipe b/c it uses items I already have on hand...my husband loves it too so it's now a go-to recipe for our house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deaviles

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Glade Spring, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States