Amy's Mexican Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
This is a great soup that's fast and easy. It taste like you cooked it all day. It's know one of our favorites on a cold day. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I make a similar soup, though try to pack a few more vegetables in mine -- small cubed zucchini, carrot, corn and celery. Cilantro is a perfect bright accent to the soup, and I like to add small cubes of avocado as well - their buttery richness is a pleasant surprise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This is similar to the famous "soup Nazi" Chicken Chili soup. I make a version of this regularly. A couple suggestions to make it easier. 1) Brown the chicken in the soup pot, cook through and shred while you cook the aromatics in the pot. 2) Add a can of cream style corn to the soup. This is really delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
I loosely made this tonight. I used ground beef instead of chicken, since I had it on hand. I used up some fresh and, on it's last leg, zucchini and corn. I added a bit of verde salsa for extra flavor and let it cook for over 2 hours without a top to reduce down a bit and concentrate the flavor. To serve, we squeezed a bit of fresh lime into it and added cheese and sour cream. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
This is my new favorite soup recipe! Excellent flavor and easy to prepare. I added a few things to make it even more filling. First of all, I used two cans of diced tomatoes with Italian seasoning, undrained, instead of whole tomatoes and one can of diced tomatoes w/chilis. Then I used lots more garlic, minced (four cloves - you can never have too much garlic!) Then I added a cup of frozen corn and some leftover brown rice (probably 1 1/2 cups cooked). Lastly, I used some fresh chopped cilantro. I love rice in my soup, expecially since it absorbs the flavor and makes it hardier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
This is the one dish that my family asks for regularly. I highly recommend it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
I found the recipe far too acidic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Booth

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Bath, Somerset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
This tastes like tortilla soup - very spicy, which I like. I didn't have tomatoes with jalapenios so i finely chopped some jalapenios from a jar. I also didn't puree the soup but left the tomato chunks (so I used diced tomatoes instead of whole ones). This tasted excellent and is a great South Beach Diet recipe as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
This was a great soup! Perfect for a cold day. I added more red pepper and corn. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
This was so good we even had seconds. I reduced it for two people. We loved the sour cream and cheddar. I simplified it but skipping the blending step since we like our soup chunky anyway. I added some fresh tomatoes and a little less canned ones. I also added some frozen veggies and spiced it up a bit more since we like our food hot. We'll definitely be having this again. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States