Amy's Mexican Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
This is a great soup that's fast and easy. It taste like you cooked it all day. It's know one of our favorites on a cold day. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Woods McCabe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I make a similar soup, though try to pack a few more vegetables in mine -- small cubed zucchini, carrot, corn and celery. Cilantro is a perfect bright accent to the soup, and I like to add small cubes of avocado as well - their buttery richness is a pleasant surprise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This is similar to the famous "soup Nazi" Chicken Chili soup. I make a version of this regularly. A couple suggestions to make it easier. 1) Brown the chicken in the soup pot, cook through and shred while you cook the aromatics in the pot. 2) Add a can of cream style corn to the soup. This is really delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
I loosely made this tonight. I used ground beef instead of chicken, since I had it on hand. I used up some fresh and, on it's last leg, zucchini and corn. I added a bit of verde salsa for extra flavor and let it cook for over 2 hours without a top to reduce down a bit and concentrate the flavor. To serve, we squeezed a bit of fresh lime into it and added cheese and sour cream. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
This is my new favorite soup recipe! Excellent flavor and easy to prepare. I added a few things to make it even more filling. First of all, I used two cans of diced tomatoes with Italian seasoning, undrained, instead of whole tomatoes and one can of diced tomatoes w/chilis. Then I used lots more garlic, minced (four cloves - you can never have too much garlic!) Then I added a cup of frozen corn and some leftover brown rice (probably 1 1/2 cups cooked). Lastly, I used some fresh chopped cilantro. I love rice in my soup, expecially since it absorbs the flavor and makes it hardier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
This is the one dish that my family asks for regularly. I highly recommend it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
I found the recipe far too acidic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Booth

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Bath, Somerset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
This tastes like tortilla soup - very spicy, which I like. I didn't have tomatoes with jalapenios so i finely chopped some jalapenios from a jar. I also didn't puree the soup but left the tomato chunks (so I used diced tomatoes instead of whole ones). This tasted excellent and is a great South Beach Diet recipe as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
This was a great soup! Perfect for a cold day. I added more red pepper and corn. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
This was so good we even had seconds. I reduced it for two people. We loved the sour cream and cheddar. I simplified it but skipping the blending step since we like our soup chunky anyway. I added some fresh tomatoes and a little less canned ones. I also added some frozen veggies and spiced it up a bit more since we like our food hot. We'll definitely be having this again. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States