Amy's Mexican Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2013
I make this all the time and it is really good. I change it up a little with Chile Beans in place of the Black Beans only because my family do not care for Black Beans. I add avacado, cheese, fresh cilantro, diced fresh onions, and toritilla chips as on the side condiments to be served after soup has simmered to meld the spices. Don't be afraid to spice it up. Kind of like build your own soup bowl. My family loves it. It is the best Chicken soup I have every made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
GREAT soup!! I didn't have chicken on hand so substituted with ground beef and YUM! I also had to make it non-spicy for the little guy (and he loved it too!) so omitted the cayenne and added dashes of tabasco with shredded cheese for the grown-ups when served. This is a definite keeper and next time will try it with the shredded chicken. Thanks Amy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MuskokaJac

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Huntsville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
this wasnt good at all, had no flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I love this recipe b/c it uses items I already have on hand...my husband loves it too so it's now a go-to recipe for our house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deaviles

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Glade Spring, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I Loved this recipe. And I cannot cook ANYTHING! I used low soduim chicken broth, added a can of corn and some shredded carrots. Broiled the chicken in my toaster oven. No mess, one pot soup. Healthy and super delicious. The tomatoes with green chiles added the perfect amount of heat. And I liked that I didn't have to add a MSG or sodium packed packet of taco seasoning like most of the other mexican/tortilla soup recipes call for. This is definately a keeper. My first review because I loved this soup so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This was delicious. I used crushed tomatoes instead of whole and fire roasted diced tomatoes with green chiles. I did not puree it. I also added finely diced carrot because I had some on hand that I needed to use up. I also added a small amount of both ground cumin and coriander and I used ancho chili powder. This was excellent and I will definitely make again. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shauna McNabb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Sanilac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This is very good. The only thing I did different is, I added a can of corn. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
OMGoodness! This is so good, I think I am going to use this recipe to win the chili cookoff at church this year. I did add a whole jalapeno minced to the onions and the garlic. Oh, I am a cumin lover so I added a couple of tablespoons of that too, also a little paprika. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I fixed this dish for a pot luck dinner and everyone thought it was the best soup they have ever tasted. My family has been asking me every week to make the soup again. It's a little spicy but makes you feel warm inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Very delicious soup, everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LowcountryJudi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States