Amy's Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I followed the recipe exact, only using CHEESECAKE instant pudding and half semi-sweet/half dark chocolate chips because I had a half bag of each to use up. I did use organic flour and eggs and half butter/half margerine. The cooking time was not right for me. 375* was way too hot and they burned fast but 350* for 10 minutes was perfect. All three of my men LOVED these cookies and my husband remarked that the cheesecake pudding was a really good addition. I thought this was a particularly pretty looking cookie. I would recommend that you chill the dough for an hour or two so it has time to firm up a bit and let the cookies firm up on the cookie sheet before taking them off so they don't fall apart. NOTE: Half gone since this morning. OMG, huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
I thought these were ok. I have had better.In the list of ingredients it says use margarine, but in the recipe it says butter. I used margarine but either way I would not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
very nice cookie. I like the fact that they are not sickening sweet however sweet enough. I added a bunch of hangerson..M&M's, choc. swirl chips, choc. chips and raisins to equal the two cups. I had a French Vanilla mix. I did add 1/2 tsp. salt which I think helped with what others complained of the blandness problem. Very nice soft cookie for a change of pace w/a bit of crispness. 9 minutes on a teflon sheet was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
What a great cookie recipe. Depending on the type of pudding you use, the possibilities are endless for your flavor combinations. I only had chocolate pudding so that is what I used. I also had about a 1/4 cup of peanut butter chips left over, so I threw those in with the 2 cups of chocolate chips. The only thing I was confused about was the 3.4 oz box of pudding. Maybe because I used fat free sugar free pudding the size was different, but I had both small (1.4 oz) and large (2.1 oz) boxes. So, to be safe I threw both in. In response to the reviewer that felt the cookies had a chemical taste maybe it had to do with the type of pudding they used. I was afraid of this since I used the fat free sugar free variety, but I detected no strange after taste. The cookies do not spread much and frankly my daughter and I had fun making them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
This recipe is excellent. I've been making them for about a year and that's the only kind of chocolate chip cookies that my husband will eat now. I made these for him to take deer hunting and the guys he went with even asked for the recipe! This is definitely the best recipe ever! I'm currently making the cookies using chocolate pudding and semi sweet and white chocolate morsels. The only thing I changed was that I addred 1/4 more flour. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
Just made these, have last batch in the oven...they are yummy, and like other reviews did not spread and come out flat. I used banana pudding, I think any flavor would work great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
This is my favorite cookie ever... my mom and I used to make them when I was a kid... the recipe was originally on the inside of a jello pudding box. It's really chewey, so it's necessary to let the cookies cool on the cookie sheet before moving them so they don't tear. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
I think I expected more from these cookies based on the reviews. They did keep their shape nicely and they are versatile however I thought they had a distinctly chemical taste, probably from the pudding. I will not make these again. I did find that the Outrageous Chocolate Chip Cookie recipe from this site was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
This is a great recipe. I had a similar ones years ago and lost it - but this is almost exactly like it. I do agree with a previous reviewer who suggested adding a tsp of salt. It gives the right combination of salt and sweet - very balanced. Without it I think they would have seemed lacking in flavor. I also made this with White Chocolate pudding - very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellygrrrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
My kids loved these cookies. This is the first recipe time I've made soft cookies that actually stayed soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States