Amy's Barbecue Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2004
Very tasty, a whole family pleaser. I will do a few things differently next time though. 1. Salt and pepper the chicken before grilling. 2. Use less lettuce. Unless they're very small, two heads are too much. 3. Add another tomato. My wife suggested using less barbeque sauce in the dressing, so you might try adding the bbq sauce to the dressing to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
Excellent! I used a bag of lettuce to make things easier. I also left off the Fried Onions to make it a little bit healthier. Next time I will add some crunched up tortilla chips for some "crunch". I also added some red onion and cheese. I used fat free ranch dressing and I couldn't tell once it was mixed with the barbeque sauce. This makes a great and easy lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
I got all thumbs up on this recipe from my family!!! It was incredibly easy to throw together...I did add some garlic powder blend to the chicken prior to grilling to spice it up a bit. I also crumbled up some tortilla chips and put them on the salad instead of using the fried canned onions...I served it with the Waikiki cornbread and everybody couldn't stop raving!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Great salad with a nice Southwestern flair - perfect for a weeknight meal! I rubbed my chicken breasts with a little "Taco Seasoning II" from this site and grilled them brushing them with a bit of KC Masterpiece BBQ sauce right before they were done. I used a mix of romaine and iceberg lettuce and added some shredded Mexican blend cheese. Instead of bottled ranch dressing I used "Ranch-Style Buttermilk" Dressing from this site and didn't mix and barbeque sauce in it. Overall, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
Even though the fried onions would have been tasty & added a nice texture, I left them out to reduce the calories. I also omitted the cilantro due to family preference. The 2nd time I made this, I used 2/3 cup of ranch dressing & 1/3 cup barbeque sauce because my husband likes a milder taste. It was still good but I also thought it was fine the 1st time I made it, with the dressing proportions as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
I also added some avocado and it was a very easy, and great recipe. One thing is if you want to save extras for the next day keep the dressing on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2004
I had been looking for a recipe to replicate the BBQ Chicken Salad at Mimi's Cafe (a great chain restaurant) and this was pretty close. I made it exactly as directed. Next time I'll add jicama, like Mimi's does. Thanks for the recipe, Amy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Misawa, Aomori, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
I loved this salad. It was a nice change from the usual. I omitted the beans due to personal preference but made everything else the same. I used a bag of salad instead of 2 heads of lettuce. The fried onions are a great addition. Note - the salad dressing mixture makes a large portion! Thanks Amy! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
I used Kraft Light 3 Cheese Ranch Salad Dressing along with KC Masterpiece Barbecue Sauce. This is a great salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
What a yummy salad! I just used one bunch of green leaf lettuce and that was plenty. I will probably add another tomato next time. Half a bunch of cilantro was enough also, but definately don't leave it out - it adds great flavor! I also used crushed tortilla chips on top. It was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Barbecue Chicken

Discover a great technique for making perfect barbecue chicken.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Grilled Chicken Salad with Seasonal Fruit

An amazing main dish salad that stars grilled chicken and fresh seasonal fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States