Amy's Barbecue Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
What a yummy salad! I just used one bunch of green leaf lettuce and that was plenty. I will probably add another tomato next time. Half a bunch of cilantro was enough also, but definately don't leave it out - it adds great flavor! I also used crushed tortilla chips on top. It was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
This recipe was so wonderfully delicious!!! I agree with the suggestion to decrease bbq sauce, I used appx 2 parts ranch to 1 part bbq. Also omitted cilantro and ff onions. Will definitely be making this again (and again and again...) might try crushed tortilla chips on top. I'm passing this recipe on to other people. It's so easy and yummy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
I loved this salad. It was a nice change from the usual. I omitted the beans due to personal preference but made everything else the same. I used a bag of salad instead of 2 heads of lettuce. The fried onions are a great addition. Note - the salad dressing mixture makes a large portion! Thanks Amy! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
Even though the fried onions would have been tasty & added a nice texture, I left them out to reduce the calories. I also omitted the cilantro due to family preference. The 2nd time I made this, I used 2/3 cup of ranch dressing & 1/3 cup barbeque sauce because my husband likes a milder taste. It was still good but I also thought it was fine the 1st time I made it, with the dressing proportions as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
Excellent! I used a bag of lettuce to make things easier. I also left off the Fried Onions to make it a little bit healthier. Next time I will add some crunched up tortilla chips for some "crunch". I also added some red onion and cheese. I used fat free ranch dressing and I couldn't tell once it was mixed with the barbeque sauce. This makes a great and easy lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
This is excellent! I didn't change anything. it makes a lot, though, and leftovers don't work, so make it for a big group; they'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
Very Good. I used canned chicken for ease. The dressing is delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
Excellent salad! It definitely tasted like resturant quality! I added purple onion and shredded cheddar cheese. I also used leftover grilled BBQ chicken. I mixed one part BBQ sauce to 2 parts ranch as another reviewer suggested. It was perfect! Thanks for a nice summer salad. This is a keeper in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICOLETTE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
This is a great summer salad! I omitted the fried onions and added a bit of red onion as well as red bell pepper, avocado and tortilla chips on top. I also added the veggies in with the lettuce individually for each serving so that the lettuce doesn't get droopy for leftovers the second day. I served it with some crusty french bread and a nice bottle of white wine. A great summer dinner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
I've been making a similar salad after I had it at a restaurant as well. I've never seen the french fried onions before, great addition! I like to add shredded pepperjack cheese to my salad, and have found that defrosted frozen corn works well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Barbecue Chicken

Discover a great technique for making perfect barbecue chicken.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Grilled Chicken Salad with Seasonal Fruit

An amazing main dish salad that stars grilled chicken and fresh seasonal fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States