Amy's Barbecue Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
For carb conscious cooks, use a good low carb BBQ sauce, and slightly reduce the ranch dressing in the mix. I use Paula Deen's BBQ sauce. It's delish, and very low sugar. Chris and Pitts original is also low carb I think- I can't find it in the stores around me, but I used to use it. For taco salad, use a mix of salsa or taco sauce and ranch dressing, and either grilled or rotisserie chicken, or ground beef cooked with Ortega medium hot taco sauce, shredded cheddar cheese, and sprinkle some crumbled tortilla chips in. I've also used Franks hot wing sauce and ranch dressing for a spicy Western dressing, (easy on the Franks!), something like the Blooming Onion dressing. You can add shredded cheddar cheese or pepper jack for flavor. Ranch dressing is so versatile, it accommodates so many different flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Branigan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Delicious! A great twist on the usual grilled chicken salad...the whole family enjoyed this~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
WOW!!! This was so good!!! I will be making this all summer. The whole family loved this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
This recipe is soooo yummy!! I followed to recipe almost exactly, I just added salt, pepper, and some bbq sauce to the chicken before grilling. I will be making this many more times..thank you for adding it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenRioux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Tasty! My hubby grumbled a bit (he's not a fan of salads), but I really enjoyed this. :) I absolutely LOVE the idea of subbing French's fried onions for the tortilla strips found in the famous chain's salad! I scaled this in half to feed two HUNGRY adults, and to make this a little more authentic, I made a few changes. To start, I subbed Iceberg / Romaine lettuce (bagged mix), added some julienned jicama and a generous handful of shredded Monterey-Jack cheese and cut way back on the cilantro (maybe 3 T total). I seasoned my chicken with Montreal BBQ rub and had my hubby baste it with a little BBQ sauce while he grilled it. When it was time to eat, I plated my salad a little differently (again, to mimic CPK's salad). I tossed my lettuce, beans, corn, jicama, cheese and a little dressing together (just enough dressing to lightly coat everything), then plated it. I surrounded each salad with chopped tomato and avocado and garnished with fried onions and chicken. I finished it all of with a drizzle of BBQ sauce and leftover dressing. To change things up next time, I think I'll sub tortilla strips for the fried onions and just add a chopped green onion to my salad. All in all, this rocked my taste buds and totally satisfied my craving. Thanks for sharing your recipe, AMYEH! This was PHENOMENOL!!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
This was one of the best salads I have ever eaten! I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Delicious, full-meal dinner salad. I made as written, but added avocado and cucumber because there was a half of each in the refrigerator that I wanted to use up. The dressing is one of our favorites. A popular restaurant makes this dressing for a Wildfire Chicken Salad, and the dressing recipe for this recipe was spot on. As the weather gets nicer, our eating habits change and this salad will be a wonderful addition for a lighter summer dinner. Thanks, AMYEH for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
this salad is mediocre at best why would you put barbecue sauce and a salad I didn't like it at all the ingredients do not go well together with barbecue sauce and ranch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
This is my favorite salad at restaurants and I've wanted to make it at home but I just hadn't yet...until now. I did things a little different but the basics were all the same. This turned out great! My hubby said it was better than the restaurants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forest Grove, Oregon, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Grilled Chicken Salad with Seasonal Fruit

An amazing main dish salad that stars grilled chicken and fresh seasonal fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States