Amusement Park Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
I love this recipe! I know a lot of people call this corn cake because of the sugar in it, but hey... That's how they grew up and that's ok! But for me, I love the tast and the texture, my dad always used to take day old corn bread and have in a mug crumbled with milk, and this recipe is perfect for that!! I am trying this for the first time using less flour and more corn meal and excited to see how much better it will be with more corn flavor, plus using extra cooking time ( which is a major sticking point with the original recipe).. Wish me luck! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Sweet but not too sweet. Corny but not too corny. Not moist. Not dry. Not crumbly. Not cakey. Perfect. (Followed exactly)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CG
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Great recipe! My family's new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Waters

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
Really tasty! Reason I only gave this 4 Stars is because mine turned out crumbly and I prefer a moist cornbread. Want to try again and if it turns out better next time, I will change my rating. I did cut down on the sugar, but it shouldn't have made a difference in texture. Maybe it needs another egg or more milk? You can't beat the flavor though so this is definitely a "try again" one for me...just in case it's me and not the recipe. Thanks Trish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Lowell, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Fantastic recipe! This is definitely my new go-to recipe. This really straddles the line between a Northern and Southern cornbread. It's sweeter and more moist than a traditional Southern-style cornbread but less sweet and less cakey than a Northern style bread. It is lovely to eat plain and holds up well to chili also. Love it! I baked mine in a pre-heated, greased cast iron skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
My family loved this recipe! There were no leftovers. I made it exactly as directed. Cooking time was perfect using a 8 inch cast iron pan (i believe this is the trick for this recipe to cook through). It had crisp edges and it was moist and light. No complaints here! Like my 13 yr old said, its perfect the way it is. It's like having cake for supper (I might try reducing the sugar in the future just the same).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I now bring the bread to the family soup-er sunday gatherings. I made this once, and they were all sold. Delicious! And if I can bake it, anyone can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blacksunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taylorsville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Delicious! especially if you like a sweet cornbread. I've tried other recipes and it seems Jiffy stands up to most with my family, but this beats it by a mile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ILYbakedgoods
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
It was great! With alterations.....1 1/2 c flour, 1c cornmeal and 1/3 c sugar+ 1/3 c honey did it for me :-) SWEET AND DELICIOUS....I made my own honey butter too...good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I changed the flour and cornmeal measurements as suggested by MRS. THOMAS (1/2 c. flour and 1 1/4 c. cornmeal). This is the cornbread recipe that I've been looking for. The batter made 12 nicely rounded muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by always_hungry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 443) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States