Amish White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
THIS IS SO GOOD! I reduced the sugar to 1/4 cup, but left everything else the same. It's amazing and dangerous- you'll want to eat the whole loaf in one sitting! I made one loaf according to the recipe and made one with cheese. To do the cheese loaf, I flattened out half the dough to a rough square about as wide as my loaf pan. I sprinkled it with cheddar cheese, rolled it up, and put in the loaf pan with the seam down. After it rose in the pan, I brushed it with an egg wash (an egg and water) and sprinkled the top with garlic powder and seasoned salt. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Also good with half brown flour half white. A very sweet bread (i used 1 cup of sugar).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Fluffy awesomeness! I added salt and oregano on top right before baking. Great for olive oil dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Wonderful! Made the house smell amazing! I will never buy bread again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jo
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Very easy, next time I am going to try reducing the sugar. Instead of white sugar I used turbinado sugar and olive oil instead of veggie oil. Turned out great!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Oh sooo good and sooo easy! Once dough is finished rising, roll it out flat and add butter, raisins, and some brown sugar and cinnamon! Check middle for doneness though. Looooveee It!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I have done this exactly as the recipe says multiple times! It always turns out great! One time, I left it to rise and got called into work. 7 hours later, it was extremely puffed up, but still cooked beautifully! I recently added 1/4 cup of ground flax seed and switched half the bread flour for whole wheat flour! I changed the sugar to about two tablespoons of honey (a little more because I totally overflowed the spoon), substituted sweetened applesauce for the oil and just added flour until the consistency was right. It made an amazing whole-wheat bread with an extra touch of sweetness! Perfect for my parents, who are both on a low-sugar, no-oil diet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Katie Q
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I used a larger bread pan and baked for 45 minutes on the same temp in recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Great recipe.I make it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
The bread was absolutely horrible. Really bad. I couldn't even eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 3,370) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States