Amish White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
This is my first attempt at making yeast bread. I divided the dough, putting one half in a nine inch cake pan and the other in a loaf pan. I baked them the exact amount of time and love both of the results! The loaf turned out a little denser with a crustier top, while the artisian style loaf came out soft and tender! I'm pretty happy this turned out on my first try, as my dad has been a baker for over 60 years!His bread is over the moon~ I hope to make bread as good as him some day!~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbie Sanchez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
This was my first time baking bread and I'm no longer scared!! This bread has an amazing flavor!! I did do as suggested and decrease the sugar to 1/3 c. and I used olive oil and all purpose flour, as that was all I had! My picky little nephew even loved it!! I won't be looking any further for the perfect white bread recipe!! I don't know if I'll be able to eat store bought bread ever again!! I also used my Kitchen Aid Mixer...this bread was a snap to make!! No one in our family is complaining!! Thanks for a great and easy recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Easy easy recipe followed exactly and the notes from the bread guy about using a mixer or KitchenAid and it comes out perfect every time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Works for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Absolutely perfect bread every time. A new staple in our house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
This is a great, simple sweet bread to make. So easy! I made it exactly as the recipe called for and it turned out great. It matched the stew I made (Beef Stew VI) very well. I did read some of the reviews and will try this again with a little less sugar for a different taste next time, but will definitely keep making it this way as well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Limestone, New York, USA
Living In: Allegany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
This is a great easy bread recipe that makes two delicious homemade loaves. I haven't made bread in a long time but this turned out way better than even a bread maker I had used in the past. The bread is dense and moist. The crust browned perfectly. I use the second highest rack setting in my oven when baking. I did let the dough rise longer than the 30 minutes suggested in order for it to rise above the loaf pan. It took about an hour and 15 minutes. Well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elsa
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
The only thing I changed was the sugar, I put a little less (about 1/3) :) I also put the dough straight into a non-stick loaf tin after kneading it in a bowl slightly oiled with olive oil. Love the outcome. My first loaf ever!! Thanks a lot ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
I am not a baker -- my friends beg me not to bake! -- but wanted to try my hand at bread, so used this recipe. Oh, my...I think I've become a baker!! It was SCRUMPTIOUS. Everyone that's eaten it, including me, has loved it. Thank you, Peg. The only thing I changed was using 1 cup of ten-grain flour in the recipe. Very, very happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I love this recipe. It is the first bread recipe that I used when I was starting to make bread earlier this summer. I have also used it for pretzels, dipping them in a baking soda and water mixture. Sometimes I do half white flour and half whole wheat as well. Works great every time! I really like this recipe because the bread is dense and holds together well. Great for sandwhiches! I tend to use a little bit less yeast the the recipe calls for, between 3/4 tbsp to 1 tbsp and it works great still.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 3,535) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States