Amish White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Photo by chrissz
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Made it exactly as written except I used all purpose flour and it was still fabulous!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amalai
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Just made this!!!! Apartment smells incredible! I couldn't even wait for it to cool before I tried it. Outstanding easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SteffyRose
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
First time making bread and it was a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SteffyRose

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
easy to make and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I am a retired police officer - and although I am a female - I am NOT even close to the very worse baker in the world (I am so much more below that title :) I came home to live and help my aging mother who loves homemade bread. I was less-than-eager to attempt it. Thank you Peg for this remarkably easy and YUMMY recipe! I started it last week and have since made 6 loaves. I'll be baking more over this cold snap of Northern Minnesota (at a whopping 50 below zero) - and the smell of your Amish White Bread makes our cabin fever a lot more bearable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri Rodney Mundhenke
Home Town: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Buffalo, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Easy bread. Quick to make. I tried it in my Kitchen Aid Classic. While the KA can handle it, it doesn't do great. I'll stick to my professional KA in the future. That said if the smaller KA is what you have it can be done. I usually make one of the loaves with cinnamon and dates or raisins, or a hard cheese: asiago, parmesan, etc. But I've tried it with mozzarella and it was delicious. Roll out one of the loaves, sprinkle with garlic salt, oregano and cheese. Roll it up and let it rise with the plain loaf. They bake the same. I cut the loaves, then freeze half of each and use the frozen bread for toast or grilled sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This is my second time using yeast in bread, still not sure if I'm doing it right. Bread never rose over pan before I put it oven, waited an hour. Bread tastes good but very dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Maybe I didn't punch this enough, but mine turned out super dense---more like thick hunks of banana bread than sandwich bread slices. Could have used less sugar, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Easiest bread I've ever made! I don't own a bread maker and the texture was perfect. If you've never baked before you'll have success if you follow the recipe as is. One tip, if you're baking in the colder months, turn your oven on and place the dough on top or near it for the warmth. It helps the dough rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This recipe, slightly tweaked, worked like a charm for me. I got the most gorgeous loaf of bread imaginable (seriously, with some homemade jam, this is other-worldly!) but I took half of the dough and make cinnamon rolls instead of a 2nd loaf of bread. They rise BEAUTIFULLY! I used all purpose flour (King Arthur organic un bleached) and used my dough hook on speed 2 for the entire recipe, adding flour and letting it knead slowly and patiently until all the flour was incorporated into a beautiful dough ball. I used less sugar- 1/2 a cup, and I used turbinado (sugar in the raw) instead of white sugar. I also used less flour- 5.5 cups, and used melted butter in place of the oil. I let mine rise 1 hour the first time, then the bread reached 1inch over the top of my loaf pan in a 30 minute second rise. I heated my oven with a Pyrex bowl of water to 200 degrees, then turned it off and let the oven cool 10 minutes, and let the bread dough and cinnamon rolls (smeared with a mixture of softened butter, brown sugar, cinnamon, etc and rolled up, cut into rolls) rise in the warmed oven together both times.They came out remarkable. I will never have a Cinnabon craving that rolls made with this bread recipe would not absolutely 100% satisfy! Amazing sandwich bread, dense but soft. My go-to recipe now!! Cant screw it up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrennanX2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Severna Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Clayton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 3,420) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States