Amish White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Awesome! Worked perfectly. Since it is chilly in the house right now, after I let it rise for the first time and put it in the loaf pan, I set the oven to "warm" (around 100 degrees F) and let it rise the rest of the way in the warm oven with the door slightly cracked. Then, once it had risen, baked per instructions. Yum yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I really like this bread. Used about 1/4c sugar instead of 1/3c(half recipe) as some suggested maybe using less. Rolled it up with cinnamon in it and it was super yummy. Going to try some french toast with it in the morning. But definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
My first time making a somewhat successful bread. I was happy with it except for the fact that it was a little dense. I don't know if I needed to knead it more or what. Overall, I will try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I love this bread! So easy to make, does not require as much rising time as some yeast breads. Has a little sweetness to it which I like. I did not use mixer with dough hook, I mixed mine by hand, very simple. I plan to make this bread weekly and may give some loaves as Christmas gifts, along with cookies and fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Loved it, a sweeter bread that reminds me of my grandmothers bread. Although I would suggest watching how much flour you do put in, do it a cup at a time as I only really needed 5 cups in the dough and the last cup was sparingly used to knead the dough in. It didn't rise as much as I'd hoped as I used cooler water than I should have to activate the yeast which I would think was the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I didn't have bread flour so I used all purpose flour, perhaps thats why it came out a bit dense. Its still very edible. I reduced the sugar after reading reviewers saying how sweet it was. I liked it and will try again with bread flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
This is so delicious! My husband loves home made bread of any kind and he tried one bite of this and said it has to be a permanent addition to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
This was my first attempt at making bread and it was DELICIOUS. My family couldn't get enough of it. One loaf was gone before it had time to cool. I made this following the recipe exactly. Wasn't too sweet as mentioned by some. We ate some with butter and made sandwiches with some. Great either way. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I liked it because it was sweeter than other breads I have ever tried. Though I did change the ingredients around a little. I added 5 cups of bread flour, 1/2 cup at a time. And I sprinkled some flour over the loaves while they were rising in the loaf pans. Otherwise, they were awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brier, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I liked it. I cut it down to one tablespoon. Very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 3,368) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States