Amish White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
I loved this recipe! I have to admit, I was worried at first it would be too sweet with all the sugar, but it was just the right amount. Don't change anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura McIlwaine
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
This is hands down the best and easiest bread recipe EVER! I've tried all kinds of bread recipes and I was very skeptical with how easy and basic this is but it's amazing! I made 1 batch and both loaves were gone in 1 day! I made another batch and that lasted almost a day and a half, my kids will just sit and eat slice after slice. It is wonderfully sweet and doesn't crumble or fall apart like some white breads do when you try to spread butter or peanut butter on it. I will never need another bread recipe! I made it as is and the only change I made was that I only had to cook it for 20 minutes before it was done, but other than follow this recipe exactly and you'll fall in love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
Always turns out great, one time I let the yeast proof for too long (over night) so the bread was very yeasty and not sweet at all. Best not to over-proof.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2015
What a great bread recipe! I did ad someone else suggested and cut the sugar down to 1/4 cup only. I also added some vital wheat gluten (3 tsp). I will be making this as my standard sandwich bread for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
This bread has become a staple in our home. Heaven for bid..if we run out. Thanks for a wonderful, easy bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Lee Iwamasa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2015
This bread is amazing ! Easy, delicious, and stays fresh. We make it every Sunday for the week. No preservatives, no chemicals. It stays well until Friday. We use a bread machine, makes it even easier. So simple. My husband makes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
Amazing bread recipe. Made it multiple times now and just love it. I think I am going to try making it into rolls this time and see how that works out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Branham

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
The bread turned out sooooo good. Crusty outside, soft inside, the right amount of sweetness. And I have two to look forward to thanks to the recipe being big enough. Making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2015
This is my favorite to go to bread recrecipe ever! My family loves it!It is a bit dense, sweet, and goes well with everything. I've also formed the dough into rolls, to include clover, and a bread ring. It's made even easier with my kitchen aid mixer. If it seems a bit sweet to some, then just add half the sugar. We like it just the way it is. Good food, good eats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2015
I reduced the sugar to 1/4 cup and doubled the salt. I let the dough rise for about two hours, as it needs to rise until it achieves a marshmallow-like texture (when you poke it, you can make air bubbles). I didn't punch it down when I took it out of the bowl - instead I just shaped the loaves. To shape the loaves, cut the dough in exactly half. For each half, pat it down to form an oval. Fold the top third of the oval down towards you (like the top of a business letter) and then gently but firmly press the whole folded bit down with the floured palm of your hand to seal. Turn your dough around so you can do the exact same to the opposite side. When you're done, just fold the dough in half along the "seam" you created (like shutting a book). Press the folded dough together. You should end up with a nicely shaped log loaf. Drop it in the oiled pan and press it down firmly with your palm. It should spread to fill the whole loaf pan and look even on top. Then cover it with oiled plastic wrap and let it rise for 30 mins, but NOT OVER 1" over the bread pan or it will deflate as soon as it hits the oven. If it over-rises, take it out and reshape again, then let it rise 30 mins again in the loaf pan. Make sure you press firmly when shaping so you don't leave air bubbles in the folds, as this will make holes in your bread while baking! Your oven MUST be preheated to 350 before the bread goes in. You can test if the bread's done by thumping the bottom to see if it sounds hollow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,683) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States