Amish White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
I made this, instead of 2 loafs i made one loaf of bread and flattened the other and turned it into pizza, it was 100% a favorite with my family. next i might use the dough to make cinnamon rolls, or flat bread! maybe even dinner rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
This has to be THE BEST sandwich bread recipe!!! I have been experimenting with different recipes because I don't like all the flour and bread enhancers in store bought breads. So, this one will be from now on the official sandwich bread at our house!! My kids just love it. You can easy cut the recipe in half if you one jut one loaf. I did modified the sugar, though, I added half a cup instead of 2/3 cup, and it is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tanessa1987
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
This recipe is fool proof. I have made it 4 times and we love it. I use a regular thermometer to measure the temp of the water. I also set the bowl of sugar/yeast water in the sink so it sits in warm water while it proofs too. I do let the doe rise longer on the second step, it just takes longer for it to rise 1in above my pans for some reason. Excellent taste, dense and sweet. And it's dairy free and no expensive bread maker/machine necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
I made it today .. It was easy & delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Spaulding

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
This is a great recipe! The only thing I can complain about is the rising time. It definitely takes longer than 1 hour to let the bread rise above the pan...at least 3hrs. Other than that, Simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fawn Columbus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angie
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
The second batch I made of this bread came out perfect. I followed the recipe for the first batch (except I halved the recipe). It came out too dense. That's partially my fault though because I don't believe I kneaded long enough (first time bread maker). For the second batch, I reduced the sugar significantly (only used 2 tablespoons in total for a halved recipe), kneaded much longer, and it came out great! I noticed that the yeast proofed much better with less sugar too. The taste of this bread is superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Novi, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I tried this recipe making only one modification and the bread was so good you could eat it by itself. my grandson liked it so much he almost ate the whole loaf. very tasty and easy.the modification I made was to reduce the sugar do half a cup and added one third cup honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
This is my go-to bread recipe. I made this recipe exactly as written the first time, and would give the results five stars. After the first time, I made a couple of the suggested changes to make it healthier. First, I cut the sugar down to 1/2 cup as other reviewers suggested. It really doesn't change much. Secondly, I use 4 cups of white whole wheat flour and the rest white flour. I find that less white whole wheat flour is needed than white, so I usually use only 1/2 to 1 cup of white flour in addition to the 4 cups of white whole wheat flour. It takes a tad longer to rise because the wheat flour is heavier, but it's really yummy and feels a bit more virtuous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
It turned out great. Instead of sugar I used honey. Also put in dried apples and cinnamon. Yummy will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,625) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States