Amish White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I love the simplicity of this recipe and the results are typically good. The bread taste great and it's super easy to make. With that said, I do sometimes have issues getting my yeast to proof. Sometimes it will a little, sometimes not at all, sometimes like magic it proofs great and the dough rises really well. Not sure why I get such inconsistencies. I use good yeast and always make sure my temp is just right. I know this is not the fault of the recipe, but just thought I would share my experience making this bread. Good luck and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This recipe is great. Super easy. Not too time consuming. Family enjoyed it immensely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JADuke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ukiah, California, USA
Living In: Geyserville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
My family loves this bread so much that I have been making it almost every week for the past 8 months. It's simply delicious and so easy! I use 2 tablespoons of sugar (sometimes honey) and substitute about 1/4 of the bread flour with wheat flour, just to give it a little more flavor. I follow all other directions. One problem I've been trying to overcome is that the bread comes out a little dense at the bottom of the loaf. Not sure if this is normal for home-made breads, but I've tried increasing the rise times to see if it helps, but it made no difference. The dough rises as the recipe indicates, but it always comes out with that 1/2 inch dense bottom. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
This recipe deserves all of the 5 star ratings it has received! I've been searching for the perfect soft sandwich bread recipe for my anti-crusty, anti-chewy, anti-all things that I love in a loaf of bread husband. This recipe fit all of his needs and even I loved it! I used my bread machine to make the dough so cut the recipe in half to make one loaf. Next time I will reduce the sugar to 1/4 cup instead of 1/3 only because this will primarily be used for sandwiches so less sweet is better (for eating straight the recipe as is is wonderful!). Also my bread took significantly longer to rise because the dough is SO dense, so I just waited until it was an inch above the pan as the recipe stated. Overall if you love really soft breads this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
THIS IS SO GOOD! I reduced the sugar to 1/4 cup, but left everything else the same. It's amazing and dangerous- you'll want to eat the whole loaf in one sitting! I made one loaf according to the recipe and made one with cheese. To do the cheese loaf, I flattened out half the dough to a rough square about as wide as my loaf pan. I sprinkled it with cheddar cheese, rolled it up, and put in the loaf pan with the seam down. After it rose in the pan, I brushed it with an egg wash (an egg and water) and sprinkled the top with garlic powder and seasoned salt. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Also good with half brown flour half white. A very sweet bread (i used 1 cup of sugar).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Fluffy awesomeness! I added salt and oregano on top right before baking. Great for olive oil dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Wonderful! Made the house smell amazing! I will never buy bread again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jo
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Very easy, next time I am going to try reducing the sugar. Instead of white sugar I used turbinado sugar and olive oil instead of veggie oil. Turned out great!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Oh sooo good and sooo easy! Once dough is finished rising, roll it out flat and add butter, raisins, and some brown sugar and cinnamon! Check middle for doneness though. Looooveee It!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 3,374) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States