Amish White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
My family loved this bread! I found it quite dense, I will also adjust the cooking time next time I try it, it was still doughy in the middle. Will try it again before I decide if it's a keeper or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carey Jenkins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Made this bread today and it was very easy and turned out great! This was only my second time making bread from scratch because the first time was so labor intensive that I gave up. This went so well that I plan to make it again soon. Did not have bread flour and used all-purpose flour and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by willisonc23
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
This was my first time trying to make bread, and it turned out absolutely wonderful! So simple and easy. Followed the recipe exactly, a little shy on the sugar. It does remind me of the Kings Hawaiian bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Delicious...definitely on the sweeter end if white breads. But still easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sblackwell621
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Simple and delicious! Substitute a few cups of wheat flower for a healthier option. I refuse to buy from the supermarket after finding this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Very easy to make. I divide my loaves into three instead of the two posted in the recipe, and use the full amount of sugar ( I have a huge sweet tooth) ...My neighbor gave me some yeast from Costco and it seems to stretch the dough for this recipe. I also use a kitchen aid mixer and I only use about 5 1/2 cups of flour because my machine gets too wobbly. If I find the dough too sticky when I take it out of the bowl when stirred I just add more flour when I kneed it before proofing it in the oiled bowl. This recipe doesn't contain eggs so if you have people that have allergies to eggs this is a fantastic recipe. I have stopped my search for the perfect bread recipe!Thank goodness for Amish and old school recipes from the past.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Second time making bread ever, second recipe tried (first recipe had no sugar and was flavorless), and this was a total success!! I followed a recommendation in the comments to decrease sugar to 1/4c for a more normal sliced white bread flavor, and I am TOTALLY SOLD on this recipe! I couldn't ask for more from a white bread recipe. The loaves are beautiful and have such nice flavor and it was super easy and straightforward!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BobbiJo Abaire Moody
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I have made bread before but i have found this recipe quick and easy to make taste yummy. must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
One of my families favorites! As the men in my life say, "It even makes a plain peanut butter and jelly taste good!" half the recipe and use my bread machine for the dough making. Then bake in the oven. Thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
My first time baking bread and I have to say, its the BEST bread I've ever eaten!! I'm shocked that I actually made home made bread! It is a little labor/time intensive, but WELL WORTH it! Do it ONCE, you'll be hooked!! I followed the first reviewers instructions as I made it with my kitchenaid and dough hook and it was easy. The most difficult thing about it was the water temperature. Really "warm" was what I would call it. NOT hot, not "Luke warm" either Best to use candy thermometer to be sure around 110*. If time permits, I'm baking bread weekly, no more store bought! Thanks for awesome reviews... so helpful!! *I only used 1/3 c of sugar as I didn't want "sweet" bread, just nicely flavored sandwich bread. Think I'll stick with that amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debi RN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 3,627) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States