Amish White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 2, 2014
I just don't like breads that contain too much sugar. It's too sweet to me. I'll stick with regular white breads. I believe adding excessive sugar doesn't make things delicious, rather opposite. This recipe is one of the proof of my belief.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
Definitely a little sweet for regular bread but texture was great & super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMFLRN

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
Loved it! I now make this weekly for my family. I also made some flour out of oatmeal and substituted that for 1 1/2 cups of the flour. It was beautiful! This recipe is easy and makes beautiful yummy tasting bread. The only thing I do different is I brush the top with melted butter when it's done cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Nellis Afb, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Ahhhhmazing and very simple to make. This recipe is easy to modify to varying tastes. I tried it several ways after making the recipe as is, and each time my family loved it. Some of the changes I tried: halved the recipe, decreased sugar, increased salt, subbed a cup of white whole wheat flour, and baked italian style (not in a loaf pan). Each different mod still made a delicious loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seymour, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I love this bread. Going to make it today. I make this with the baby. Fun and it was so simple and delicious that you can pop it in your mouth with nothing on it! On the sweeter side (not harsh) and goes with anything. If you do not really like that sweeter bread id reduce it just a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
This is delicious, comes out nice and light with just enough sweetness. I made this for sandwich bread for my husband and I'm having a hard time not eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I have been weary of white sandwich bread. And I love making bread. I've made challah, dinner rolls, pizza rolls, etc. But white sandwich bread, I just couldn't. I tried a recipe from a well-known female cooking instructor on YouTube. I tried two different version of her bread. They came out tasting incredibly yeasting. It was unpleasant. The middle always sank slightly though the bread was baked-through. It didn't cut well. It was a mess. Then behold, this recipe comes and saves the day. It's delicious, I had it right out of the oven, no yeasty taste. No dent in the middle. Perfection. I followed the recipe to a T, except I only made one loaf of bread and only put in 2 tablespoons of sugar. I plan on making a cinnamon swirl bread with this, in that case, I'll add all the sugar required. Great recipe. Did I say that already?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I reduced the amount of sugar. Based it upon other's remarks, and did it at only 1/4 sugar. Just right. And, this has to be the best bread I've ever made. Probably because it turned out for me! I followed the directions of a previous reviewer who told me how to do via the Kitchen Aid Mixer route (THANK YOU!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
I have made MANY bread recipes having worked in bakeries for many years. I'm a stay-at-home-mom now and was looking for a straightforward bread for my family to enjoy on a daily basis (mostly for sandwiches). I wanted no fuss, no muss, and no expensive ingredients. I found this recipe and it's a WINNER!!! Super easy to prepare with a stand mixer. Consistent results each time. And easily modified to lower the sugar content (I half the sugar, and cook a little less then stated). Thank you for this wonderful recipe!!! ** P.S. If we have family coming over and I'm planning on making bread I HAVE to make at least a double batch because they all want a loaf to take home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Not impressed. Quite tasteless,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 3,421) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States