Amish White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Wow. This was the first recipe I made with my new Kitchen Aid stand mixer. Thank you to breadguy for the tips in his review! This bread brought the best compliment I have ever received on something I made: my husband compared it to his grandmother's famous bread. That brought me to tears. *Update: When this comes out of the oven I immediately brush it with olive oil or melted butter, then cover with plastic wrap as it cools. That helps soften the crust. I made a batch with half bread flour and half whole wheat flour, and that was declared to be the best bread yet.* *2nd Update: this works well for sweet rolls, like cinnamon or orange, and I have also used it to make a stuffed loaf (Stromboli type). Bottom line: this is a great, easy, versatile recipe.*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Wonderful! Was a little sweet so will follow the suggestion from another reviewer and add less sugar next time. But this was wonderful...great texture and taste....will certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I'm a first timer too and this recipe turned out great! I did test the yeast and it was fine and then it took almost ten hours for the bread to rise. Seriously. And it still could have gone longer, but I couldn't wait. I had to go to sleep. I don't know if our house is too cold or what, but I'm glad other reviewers mentioned that it won't hurt the bread to just let it rise as long as needed. I'm looking forward to summer when, perhaps, the process won't take a whole day! Oh and also, I made rolls too, froze them, and they baked up pretty well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rberkee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
This is the best bread recipe I have found that even comes close to the homemade yeast rolls my daddy used to make. Not hard to make and does not take all day. I sprinkle a little oatmeal on the bottom of the pan and then press some on the top. It is awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sdavis08
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Amazing!! I cut the recipe in 1/2, but followed it to a T, and it was so ridiculously amazing!! My son, who happens to the pickiest eater ever, ate 3 very thick slices fresh out of the oven. He's already asked if I'm gonna make more. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
This is a good base bread recipe, but I change it for my purposes. I prefer wheat for nutritional purposes, so I do 3/4th of the flour as whole wheat flour and 1/4th of it white just to give some levity to the bread. I also only use 1/3 cup of flour, unless I intend to use the dough for something sweet, like cinnamon rolls, then I'll do closer to the amount the recipe calls for. I use coconut oil instead of vegetable oil. I also add pure gluten to make up for the fact that I don't use bread flour (which has a higher gluten content, so I prefer just to keep regular flour and add gluten when needed). I also add a little dough conditioner. I made this without the gluten and dough conditioner, and it was still good, but those two things make it rise far more and make it more soft, airy and less likely to dry-out. Definitely worth adding to it!!! Makes for a delicious bread, which I make each Sunday to last us through the week. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Made this up tonight. Two perfect loaves. I reduced the sugar to 1/4 cup as suggested by another review and it was perfect. Not to sweet at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
The 2nd time I made this recipe, it turned out great. I live at a high altitude, so baking is always a challenge. The flavor of the bread with butter was amazing. Not so much with sandwich bread. It just lacked flavor. I'll use this recipe when I need a sweet bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mysti Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glenwood, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Monument, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Love it just make sure you let it proof properly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lady Innominate
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
This was my first time making bread without using the bread machine. It was so easy to make and tastes really good too. It is a bit sweet for sandwich bread but makes a great piece of toast with honey butter. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady Innominate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 3,474) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States