Amish White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I made this as my own 4-H project last year and added honey and pecans, it turned out perfect and delicious. Definitely a keep recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mewest1
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Loved it!!!! The easiest and most tasty recipe ever!!! Ladies for those of you who had issues making this recipe, please ensure you are using fresh yeast or your bread will not rise. This recipe should call for patience. If you are in a rush this recipe is not for you!!! I used this recipes to make cinnamon rolls and cheese stuffed dinner rolls. The best ever!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calexico, California, USA
Living In: El Centro, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
My go to quick and easy! I like to add things to this basic recipe to give it umph
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
I'd never made bread from scratch before. Almost a fool proof recipe. I used my ninja dough blade to mix the first batch, I didn't check the temp on my water before adding the yeast, and I ended up putting all the dough into my 13x4x4 USA bread pan (worth every penny guys). The bread was great for the most part, but a little underdone in the center, rose out of the pan a bit, and it had a slight "yeasty" taste. The next batch I made, I actually made sure the water temp was around 110, and I put only 2/3 of the dough into my 13x4x4 bread pan...I put the remaining 1/3 of dough into a separate 9x5x2.75 pan. I also kneaded the dough by hand this time (for only about 2 min). --- TURNED OUT PERFECT. I mean it is ridiculous how painless this was to make. I used it for sandwiches, toast, and dipping into an herbed olive oil...yumminess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Myia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Byhalia, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA
Photo by Jeffrey Brown
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Absolutely fantastic! It's so easy and it turns out so great every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeffrey Brown

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Have made this recipe twice in the last few days and it is awesome. ....love the texture of the bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
This recipe is very forgiving. I am glad I chose it as my very first bread recipe. I have progressed to many more advanced techniques over the past year, but I find myself using this recipe or a slight variant repeatedly, especially cinnamon rolls and sandwich bread for the kids as it is sweet as written. Of course you could reduce the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Had not made bread in years since the bread machine broke. Wife bought me a KitchenAid mixer so figured I'd give this a shot. 1st time was a success and we love the taste/texture. Making another batch today. Literally just dump all the dry ingredients into the mixer, including the yeast, let it run for a minute, then add 112-degree water (I do measure the temp), let it run for a minute then add the oil. To rise I put the bowl in the utility room where the furnace and water heater are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Reliable recipe that never fails to turn out. I have made exactly as written (except for halving it so I make one loaf at a time) at least 20 times. It is very forgiving re rise time, room temperature (winter versus summer), yeast age, etc. It is simply reliable, and the result is very good bread that holds together well in the toaster for a great breakfast (with a little butter). Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blue_eyed_baker
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Absolutely delicious! Only thing I changed was I used a little under 6 cups of all purpose flour. This was my first time making a loaf of bread and I was not disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 3,659) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States