Amish White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Delicious and easy to make I was think about purchasing a bread maker but with this recipe I don't need to
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle Reed-Harris
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
This is a great recipe! I love the fact they have you proof the yeast first. This is a step left out of many recipes. I added about 1/2 tsp more of yeast. I also have made this recipe with more sugar. All versions have been delicious so far. I make this recipe without a mixer or bread machine. It is SO easy to do by hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Reed-Harris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
This recipe is exactly what I was looking for. This was easy to make, it rose as expected both in the bowl and in pans. I used all of the sugar and it was in the oven before I read all of the reviews that claimed it was too sweet. I made two loaves that rose nice and high they were slightly more dense than the squishy grocery store white bread but definitely not too dense. The flavor was that of white bread. I cooked them for exactly 30 minutes. It was not too sweet and just homemade tasting enough to make it worth it. My children love to eat white bread- plain and toasted and the store bought varieties have so many chemicals. This is awesome. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mexico, New York, USA
Living In: Bossier City, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
This has to be one of the best basic white breads that I have ever made, and I have made a lot of bread! Per several reviews, I reduced the sugar to 1/3 cup and next time will reduce to 1/4 and see how I like it. I am definitely glad that I reduced the sugar, as it would have been too sweet for my liking. I also only needed to use 5 cups of flour for my dough to be perfect. With this recipe I made a large loaf of bread, and 9 huge rolls. They had a perfect texture, soft yet sturdy and the bread had a nice crumb and was easy to slice. This is going to go into my regular rotation! Thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TwstdSistr72

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Wonderful. On the sweet side. I used it to make Bierocks. It rises very fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
My family loved this bread! I found it quite dense, I will also adjust the cooking time next time I try it, it was still doughy in the middle. Will try it again before I decide if it's a keeper or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carey Jenkins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Made this bread today and it was very easy and turned out great! This was only my second time making bread from scratch because the first time was so labor intensive that I gave up. This went so well that I plan to make it again soon. Did not have bread flour and used all-purpose flour and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballmomnva

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by willisonc23
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
This was my first time trying to make bread, and it turned out absolutely wonderful! So simple and easy. Followed the recipe exactly, a little shy on the sugar. It does remind me of the Kings Hawaiian bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Delicious...definitely on the sweeter end if white breads. But still easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sblackwell621
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Simple and delicious! Substitute a few cups of wheat flower for a healthier option. I refuse to buy from the supermarket after finding this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 3,682) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States