Amish White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
this is the only recipe my adult kids have ever really liked. it's light, tasty and easy to cut. excellent for sandwiches. not horribly crumbly or hard crusts. will be making this every week for my family. i will probably never buy bread again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millbrae, California, USA
Living In: Fernley, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Good basic white bread recipe. . For those who have problems with yeast.....YOUR temperature is approximately 97 so you want the water or liquid in the yeast to be only a Bit warmer . If you think it is just barely warm- it is good. If you think it is the same as your temp ( ie no difference ), it is ok, just takes a little longer for the yeast to get moving . My oven will keep at 100 degrees which is still air and warm . The yeast need food ( sugar and flour) moisture, and moderate temps to perform- just like us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
BEST WHITE BREAD EVER! I made this bread last night, and the approval was unanimous. It is easy and fast to make, and like someone else said "very forgiving". I used 1/4 cup of sugar and 3 tbsps. oil, and did not change anything else. It came out perfect. I got three 8 1/2 x 4 1/2 loaves. Thank you Peg for sharing this wonderful recipe. -Elizabeth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
This is a very soft, very good bread. I have made it countless times. It is a sweet bread, so a lot of time I halve the sugar called for in the recipe. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aislinn Sayers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I loved this recipe I made rolls out of it to. I let the yeast rise on my counter before I punched it down. Once it was in the bread loaf pan and the rolls were in the pan i put it in the oven to rise withought any hear . It rose so much faster. Than when it was almost done rising i preheated my oven and let them bake for 40 minutes in the oven. my oven took about 10 minutes to preheat. When I was kneading it I added honey as I went until the honey was just oozing out of it when you squeezed it in any direction. Then I added flower and kneaded until it felt like kneaded bread dough. Before I baked i finely diced a 1 centimeter thick slice of butter and put it on my rolls and bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MamaMadeWaffles
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
This is an excellent, foolproof recipe for traditional white bread. I followed some reviewers suggestions, and I only use 2 tbs of sugar. I've been making my family's bread for the past 3 months and this is the recipe I use. I no longer buy bread from the grocery store, my family loves this recipe too much! I love that there are only a few ingredients, and no HFCS. I can feed this to my family and feel good about doing so. I use my Kitchen Aid mixer to make the dough and knead it, couldn't be easier! I even do the first rise in the KA. I just spray the inside of the bowl, turn the dough once so it's coated with cooking spray, then cover the bowl with plastic wrap and a kitchen towel and allow to rise. Perfect, perfect bread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMadeWaffles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Otsego, Michigan, USA
Living In: Plainwell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
This bread is so soft and fluffy and easy to make! My friend made it and she has never used yeast successfully before and it looks beautiful and tastes yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
When this dough is made into breadsticks, it tastes exactly like those expensive pretzels in the mall, a very secret recipe. This is so awesome!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Turned out wonderful, but a bit too sweet for me. I will try it with less sugar next time. I used whole wheat bread flour. Lightly and fluffy with a nice thin kid friendly crust. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Laidlaw

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Simply wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,486) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States