Amish White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
One of my families favorites! As the men in my life say, "It even makes a plain peanut butter and jelly taste good!" half the recipe and use my bread machine for the dough making. Then bake in the oven. Thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
My first time baking bread and I have to say, its the BEST bread I've ever eaten!! I'm shocked that I actually made home made bread! It is a little labor/time intensive, but WELL WORTH it! Do it ONCE, you'll be hooked!! I followed the first reviewers instructions as I made it with my kitchenaid and dough hook and it was easy. The most difficult thing about it was the water temperature. Really "warm" was what I would call it. NOT hot, not "Luke warm" either Best to use candy thermometer to be sure around 110*. If time permits, I'm baking bread weekly, no more store bought! Thanks for awesome reviews... so helpful!! *I only used 1/3 c of sugar as I didn't want "sweet" bread, just nicely flavored sandwich bread. Think I'll stick with that amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debi RN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
I love this recipe I make it all the time. Make sure you don't have expired yeast and like the directions say put 1 cup of flour in at a time you may not use all 6 cups of flour and only use enough flour I ntil the dough is no longer sticky, the dough is so easy to work with and the bread lasts longer then the bread that has eggs and milk in it ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
I make this 2-3 times a week. Some notes: 1)This is a perfect first recipe for someone wanting to try making bread. 2) There is a lot of sugar in this bread, and it is sweet. 3) The toast from this bread is incredible, probably due to the sugar (think "roasted marshmallow" for as sugar is heated). 4) My rise times are very much slower than advertised, perhaps 6 hours or longer, due to a cold apt (70 degrees) or perhaps not kneading it enough? But the "bread experts" tell me this is okay, and in fact, desirable. 5) I put "some" molasses (1/3 cup?) into a batch once to rave reviews (reduced the amount of sugar a bit tho, perhaps to 1/3 cup).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Very good I made toast with jelly with it and it was so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
It is an awesome recipe. Fast and easy. Foolproof
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Christopher Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Made this bread 5 times. Love it! I've used different amounts of sugar every time. 1/3C is the best. I also started my water at 48degrees. The bowl & waiting for the sugar will bring it down to 45degrees by time you add your yeast. Wait about 10 mins for yeast to proof. I use stand mixer. This bread is so easy. I've only needed 5 1/2 cups adding 1C at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I made this bread for my first bread baking and it came out really well! my family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Omg ammmaaaazzzziiinngggMy new go to bread!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I was so pleased with the taste of this bread! I cut back the sugar to 2 Tablespoons, and it was perfect. When I need a sweeter bread, I'll add the extra sugar, as it will probably make great cinnamon rolls. Recipe is easy to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 3,659) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States