Amish White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Ahhhhmazing and very simple to make. This recipe is easy to modify to varying tastes. I tried it several ways after making the recipe as is, and each time my family loved it. Some of the changes I tried: halved the recipe, decreased sugar, increased salt, subbed a cup of white whole wheat flour, and baked italian style (not in a loaf pan). Each different mod still made a delicious loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seymour, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I love this bread. Going to make it today. I make this with the baby. Fun and it was so simple and delicious that you can pop it in your mouth with nothing on it! On the sweeter side (not harsh) and goes with anything. If you do not really like that sweeter bread id reduce it just a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
This is delicious, comes out nice and light with just enough sweetness. I made this for sandwich bread for my husband and I'm having a hard time not eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I have been weary of white sandwich bread. And I love making bread. I've made challah, dinner rolls, pizza rolls, etc. But white sandwich bread, I just couldn't. I tried a recipe from a well-known female cooking instructor on YouTube. I tried two different version of her bread. They came out tasting incredibly yeasting. It was unpleasant. The middle always sank slightly though the bread was baked-through. It didn't cut well. It was a mess. Then behold, this recipe comes and saves the day. It's delicious, I had it right out of the oven, no yeasty taste. No dent in the middle. Perfection. I followed the recipe to a T, except I only made one loaf of bread and only put in 2 tablespoons of sugar. I plan on making a cinnamon swirl bread with this, in that case, I'll add all the sugar required. Great recipe. Did I say that already?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I reduced the amount of sugar. Based it upon other's remarks, and did it at only 1/4 sugar. Just right. And, this has to be the best bread I've ever made. Probably because it turned out for me! I followed the directions of a previous reviewer who told me how to do via the Kitchen Aid Mixer route (THANK YOU!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
I have made MANY bread recipes having worked in bakeries for many years. I'm a stay-at-home-mom now and was looking for a straightforward bread for my family to enjoy on a daily basis (mostly for sandwiches). I wanted no fuss, no muss, and no expensive ingredients. I found this recipe and it's a WINNER!!! Super easy to prepare with a stand mixer. Consistent results each time. And easily modified to lower the sugar content (I half the sugar, and cook a little less then stated). Thank you for this wonderful recipe!!! ** P.S. If we have family coming over and I'm planning on making bread I HAVE to make at least a double batch because they all want a loaf to take home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Not impressed. Quite tasteless,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
OMG.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
This is a great recipe. Easy and delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I love this bread. I have made it several times. I do add one thing to it though, and that's herbs. A tablespoon of whatever herbs you want added before the flour makes this just that much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swayzesd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raymond, Washington, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 3,448) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States