Amish White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
This bread turned out beautifully. Nice and fluffy and very easy to make. I found it way to sweet for us. I cut the sugar down to 1/4 cup as per a suggestion under the reviews and still found it extremely sugary. Not to our tastes but a very easy and attractive bread if you like sweet bread! Oh, I also reduced to 3 Tablespoons sugar the third round, which I would suggest to anyone if they'd like to give it a whirl, turned out lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Made it twice now, it always turned out perfect...even better, fluffier, the 2nd time when I kneaded the dough by hand. I also reduced the sugar quantity to a third. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
This recipe did not turn out for me. The dough didn't mix well and turned into chunks of dough rather than one ball. It was also far too sweet for my taste. I make bread regularly but clearly this was not my best work and the flavor wasn't good enough to try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Absolutely wonderful loaf of bread. Just the right consistency, keeps well for a few days to even a week if properly stored, all around good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
I followed "BreadGuy's" instructions for the KA mixer and I cut the sugar to 1/3 cup. I read the reviews and saw several people mentioned the bread was too dense. When I made it I wasn't able to use the total amount of flour called for( I probably had more then a cup left over) I don't feel compelled to use all the flour called for if the dough doesn't seem to want to take it..I go by look because different conditions ( heat, cold humidity, brand of flour etc) can affect the result so I stop when the dough looks smooth , slightly glossy and feels soft but not sticky, regardless of how much flour I've used. The result for this recipe was a loaf that stood 4 inches high in the pan and had a very tender crumb and delicious flavor..a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DianaV
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
great recipe ! Didn't change anything besides I cut the sugar in A Half ! Nice sandwich bread !! Love love this recipe ! My boyfriend loves it too ! Made this recipe like 10 times ! And it's pretty easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DianaV

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stanley, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
Very versatile and tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
I made this, instead of 2 loafs i made one loaf of bread and flattened the other and turned it into pizza, it was 100% a favorite with my family. next i might use the dough to make cinnamon rolls, or flat bread! maybe even dinner rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
This has to be THE BEST sandwich bread recipe!!! I have been experimenting with different recipes because I don't like all the flour and bread enhancers in store bought breads. So, this one will be from now on the official sandwich bread at our house!! My kids just love it. You can easy cut the recipe in half if you one jut one loaf. I did modified the sugar, though, I added half a cup instead of 2/3 cup, and it is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tanessa1987
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
This recipe is fool proof. I have made it 4 times and we love it. I use a regular thermometer to measure the temp of the water. I also set the bowl of sugar/yeast water in the sink so it sits in warm water while it proofs too. I do let the doe rise longer on the second step, it just takes longer for it to rise 1in above my pans for some reason. Excellent taste, dense and sweet. And it's dairy free and no expensive bread maker/machine necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 3,642) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States