Amish White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I love this bread. I have made it several times. I do add one thing to it though, and that's herbs. A tablespoon of whatever herbs you want added before the flour makes this just that much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swayzesd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raymond, Washington, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I make this bread every week. My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Super easy recipe, delicious bread! Why buy store bread with chemicals and other garbage in it when you can make this?!?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AnnQ13
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
This is the best bread recipe ever, and its very easy to follow the instruction! I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I have made this bread over a hundred times. It's easy to make,and it tastes wonderful.I have used this recipe for hamburger bums, dinner rolls,Bierock and a German coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CDMETZNER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Exeter, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Prefect recipe for pizza!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Absolutely perfect! This is the first time I have made white bread and I found a winner! The recipe was fail proof for me - it rose perfectly and baked in the exact time of the recipe. I used rapid rise yeast because that is wheat I had in the house. I actually added the yeast to the sugar and then added the water. I was afraid the water would cool down too much if I mixed the sugar and water first. I ended up using not quite - 5-1/2 cups of flour to get to the correct consistency. I have a hard time distinguishing what sounds like "hollow" to check for doneness, so, I just checked it with an instant read thermometer. I took out about 190 (based on what I read on the King Arthur flour site) and it rose to about 198 degrees. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I love this recipe, and after adjusting the sugar, have three variations I use: the original is great for sweet rolls, 1/3-1/2c is good for toast-and-jam uses, and 1/3c with 1c wheat flour replacing 1c bread flour is excellent sandwich bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I've made this several times. It has consistently turned out great. I love the fact that it makes 2 loaves so I can have one and give warm slices to my neighbors all around. I must say, they are very happy to see me walking up the drive with my tin foiled gift. Great and easy recipe. I recommend 100%
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
this is a very nice recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States