Amish Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
These are great fluffy cookies. I used 1 cup margerine and 1/2 cup olive oil because that is what I had. I also used regular milk instead of buttermilk. I topped them with sprinkles. They are a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
These cookies are just like the ones my Grandma taught me to make except she used more flour (5-6 c flour) and rolled out the dough. She always cut big round cookies using a upside down glass and topped each cookie with some sugar. Biggest thing to remember ***DO NOT overmix the dough or you will have rubbery/tough cookies*** Thanks for sharing the recipe. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer : )

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
Tried this recipe this morning. It makes A LOT! Next time I might scale down the recipe. The cookies turned out wonderfully - soft and fluffy! I sprinkled them with cinnamon and sugar. I actually live in Lancaster County, PA, and I have to say, these are very very close to what you might buy at Amish markets or country stores! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
This is cake. For the love of God. And I don't mean 'it's a piece of cake.' It is a cake recipe. The Amish Sugar cake recipe is nearly identical. Please, if you truly are craving cookies in your dorm room on a cold October night, please DON"T MAKE THIS. It was a waste of ingredients and time, and now we have to go to the store to get cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
If you are looking for a soft melt in your mouth sugar cookie this is NOT it. If you are looking or something with the texture of a rubbery pancake with a little flavor you have you match. I have never thrown away a batch of dough after the first two sheets, but this wasn't worth scraping of the pan. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss  Molly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
I still make this recipe as my hubby and I love this recipe so much as do friends that I give this to when I share the cookies with. they cannot believe how soft they stay in the container and how soft they are to begin with. Plus i even sprinkle them with sugar before i bake. plus if you make these christmas just sprinkle before you bake with color sugar, what a holiday feel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cortland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
My 9 year old daughter made these and they turned out great. I halved the recipe because I didn't need that many cookies! Besides that the only change we made was to sprinkle cinnamon sugar over the cookies before we baked them. A powdered sugar glaze might be good over them as well once cooled....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA
Living In: Etna Green, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
I thought that the nay-sayers were just being mean, but these cookies are indeed strange. I followed the recipe, but I certainly didn't get anything that I could pour. I got an oily, soft dough, which I spooned up and patted into rounds. They baked in about 8 minutes, but they never spread, even a bit, and they didn't puff. I can't say that they're awful, but they certainly aren't tasty, either. They're bland. Very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama_B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2002
I am a 13 year old who made these cookies with my 10 year old brother and 8 year old sister. They loved making them and eating them! Sprinkles go great, and the buttermilk can be substituted with milk. Nice and soft, and good! They taste like soft vanilla wafers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Being from York/Lancaster Co PA I am familiar with this "cookie" We always refered to them as "sugar cookies or sugar cakes". They are more like a cake but then again we make little devils food cakes the same size slap 2 togehter with frosting in the middle and call them "Whoopie pies". Chicken pot pie is Chicken with noodles and potatoes in a pot. Chicken pie to us is a chicken and vegetables baked in a a pie crust. Its a regional thing I guess. This is a good recipe true to my families traditions and we've been here over 300 years in PA Amish country.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wrightsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States