Amish Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Connie M.
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
This cookie was delicious and easy to make. But I was disappointed in the way it looked. I wanted to give them away and they looked very ordinary. I liked them better when I made them larger. I used a soup spoon and pushed them off with another soup spoon. There is no way I could have poured them. I used extra light olive oil. Thanks for the chance to try it Heather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
These cookies turned out more like cake texture. I omitted the cinnamon since it is the middle of summer and substituted lemon extract and vanilla. They were yummy, but not the kind of sugar cookie I was looking for, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
Overall a good cookie. A touch on the bland side but for me these are perfect for flavouring. Add a little orange extract or lemon, top with a lovely boiled sugar icing. All in all an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Odessa, Missouri, USA
Living In: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
These cookies are so easy to make and turn out really well. They're great if you need to whip up a batch really quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
This is cake. For the love of God. And I don't mean 'it's a piece of cake.' It is a cake recipe. The Amish Sugar cake recipe is nearly identical. Please, if you truly are craving cookies in your dorm room on a cold October night, please DON"T MAKE THIS. It was a waste of ingredients and time, and now we have to go to the store to get cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
Tried this recipe this morning. It makes A LOT! Next time I might scale down the recipe. The cookies turned out wonderfully - soft and fluffy! I sprinkled them with cinnamon and sugar. I actually live in Lancaster County, PA, and I have to say, these are very very close to what you might buy at Amish markets or country stores! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
I have used this Recipie for the past three years in ALL of my Christmas Baskets. Everyone just raves how soft and cakey these cookies are and has asked for the recipie. These cookies are so simple my 10 year old uses the recipe himself for taking cookies to his school parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
I thought that the nay-sayers were just being mean, but these cookies are indeed strange. I followed the recipe, but I certainly didn't get anything that I could pour. I got an oily, soft dough, which I spooned up and patted into rounds. They baked in about 8 minutes, but they never spread, even a bit, and they didn't puff. I can't say that they're awful, but they certainly aren't tasty, either. They're bland. Very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama_B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
I will not be using this recipe again. After 10 minutes in the oven, they were still white. Once they were finally done, I tried one, and it tasted more like bread than a cookie. They did not get "big and soft" at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2003
This recipe is very easy and delicious! My kids went nuts over them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States