Amish Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Being from York/Lancaster Co PA I am familiar with this "cookie" We always refered to them as "sugar cookies or sugar cakes". They are more like a cake but then again we make little devils food cakes the same size slap 2 togehter with frosting in the middle and call them "Whoopie pies". Chicken pot pie is Chicken with noodles and potatoes in a pot. Chicken pie to us is a chicken and vegetables baked in a a pie crust. Its a regional thing I guess. This is a good recipe true to my families traditions and we've been here over 300 years in PA Amish country.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wrightsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
So, in light of users saying this recipe was bland, I substituted 1/2 cup white sugar for dark brown sugar and two cups of the all-purpose flour for whole wheat flour. In the last half of the batter, I added some oats. They turned out quite delicious. The batter didn't seem to oily or too thin. It was similiar to a thicker cake batter. They didn't puff up, perhaps because of the difference in ingredients. But they weren't bland. They aren't my favorite, so if I make this again, I might add the oats again and make it into a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulphur, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Ada, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
These are light and airy and seem to dissolve in your mouth. I think they need a glaze or icing because they are a little dry otherwise. With a simple glaze made of 1 T melted butter, 3 T milk, 1.5 C powdered sugar, 0.25 t vanilla, and a pinch of salt, it is a breeze to drizzle and make these cookies beautiful. These are the easiest and most delicious sugar cookies ever. I love easy to handle batter rather than a thick dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crissy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
This recipe is actually GREAT! You just need to tweek the recipe a bit by cutting down on the oil and inceasing the vanilla. Only use 1 cup of oil and increase vanilla to 1 Tablespoon which adds flavor. This will make the dough thicker and more like a cookie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
My 13 year old daughter made these and I think we overcooked them a little. But other then that they were pretty good.we made as the recipe reads, and next time might add a little vanilla or almond extract for a little more flavor. Overall not a bad cookie though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Newburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
These are a far cry out from cookies and distinctly resemble strange cookie flavored pancakes!! Almost identicle to the 'Amish Sugar Cake' recipe with more flour. You should never put this much liquid into a cookie dough, it makes batter! These oven baked 'pancakes' do taste good but they flatten out into large puddles. We had to take the 'batter' and spread it into a well greased and floured 9x13 pan and baked it. Sorry, this recipe is a big two thumbs down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Dobbs

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hobbs, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I can't believe anyone wouldn't like this cookie! It's delicious. I'm just in shock at the bad comments. I make it every year for christmas and add red and green sugar on top for a little cheer. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
I still make this recipe as my hubby and I love this recipe so much as do friends that I give this to when I share the cookies with. they cannot believe how soft they stay in the container and how soft they are to begin with. Plus i even sprinkle them with sugar before i bake. plus if you make these christmas just sprinkle before you bake with color sugar, what a holiday feel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cortland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
Did not like this cookie. The excessive oil and then the buttermilk in this together gave a most unpleasant after taste . Tasted kind of like vinegar and oil salad dressing. Good on lettuce, terrible in cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
This was EXACTLY what I was looking for!!!! My family loved them. I will add these to my list of must-have Christmas cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shamokin, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jonestown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States