Amish Sugar Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2002
My husband has been yearning for Soft Sugar Cookies like the ones his grandmother made for him when he was a boy. I have been looking for a recipe that would please him for years and now I have finally found it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2001
these are yummy ,big, soft cookies,and pretty easy to make too! My husband can't get enough of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2001
This really was the best sugar cookie recipe--ever! So very easy and quick. I was concerned over very soft and runny batter, but shouldn't have been,,,,,,,,, turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2001
This a really excellent cookie. Easy, all the ingrediets are basic, you don't have to run to the store. Excellent flavor. They stay soft. If you under bake them a little they are chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
Very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
these are fabulous! they are huge and soft and puffy! the batch makes about a thousand cookies so i chilled 1/2 for later but ended up making them anyways because my husband and i couldnt stop eating them! chill before scooping for easier handling. i will be making these often! try them, you'll love them too! might be good w/mini m&m's too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
As a fan of soft cookies, I thought these were really good. If you leave them in the oven too long, they will be hard -- pull them out too early and they fall apart. You can tell the cookies are just done enough when the tops no longer glisten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2001
If you love SOFT cookies, you'll love these. Easy recipe. These are the closest I have ever been able to recreate the soft sugar cookies you buy at gas stations and grocery stores. These are great. No hard edges!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
this recipe is excellent, these were the best sugar cookies i have ever made. i didn't have buttermilk, so i used 1 Tbsp vinegar and 1 cup milk instead, and they were still so very chewey and tasty! I recommend this to everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
Best sugar cake cookie that I've found thus far. By the last batch in the oven, I made the cookies by 1st liberally sprinkling sugar on the cookie sheet, using about two large tablespoons of dough per cookie and smoothing the tops because they stayed the shaped they dropped as during cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States