Amish Sugar Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
Best sugar cake cookie that I've found thus far. By the last batch in the oven, I made the cookies by 1st liberally sprinkling sugar on the cookie sheet, using about two large tablespoons of dough per cookie and smoothing the tops because they stayed the shaped they dropped as during cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2004
I was not overly impressed with the taste and texture of this cookie. Still looking for that perfect sugar cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2004
Ok...These were not so good. Maybe I did something wrong along the way somehow. The batter was SO good, so I expected really good cookies, the flavor however was lacking. Even with icing. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
Very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
This was a very easy recipe to make, and the cookies were excellent! Very soft with slightly crisp bottom. Not too sweet. We really enjoyed them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
As a fan of soft cookies, I thought these were really good. If you leave them in the oven too long, they will be hard -- pull them out too early and they fall apart. You can tell the cookies are just done enough when the tops no longer glisten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
these are fabulous! they are huge and soft and puffy! the batch makes about a thousand cookies so i chilled 1/2 for later but ended up making them anyways because my husband and i couldnt stop eating them! chill before scooping for easier handling. i will be making these often! try them, you'll love them too! might be good w/mini m&m's too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2002
My husband has been yearning for Soft Sugar Cookies like the ones his grandmother made for him when he was a boy. I have been looking for a recipe that would please him for years and now I have finally found it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2002
These are not the sugar cakes I remember as a child. They came out flat like pancakes. I didn't taste any yet. The kind I made before were just like in the store they were thick and soft and great to dip in coffee. Was this recipe ever tested? OK I tasted one bite. The flavor is the same. Something must be missing from the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
this recipe is excellent, these were the best sugar cookies i have ever made. i didn't have buttermilk, so i used 1 Tbsp vinegar and 1 cup milk instead, and they were still so very chewey and tasty! I recommend this to everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States