Amish Sugar Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 18, 2007
Fantastic cookies! After the first batch, I cut the sugar down to 1 1/2 cups -- tastes even better. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teejaymacd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Summerside, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Living In: Kensington, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
Mime went flat. Don't know what happened. Won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Great to decorate, big and soft cookies. Make sure they're completely cool and have wax paper between layers for storage though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
This is very similar to a recipe my family has been using since before I was born! Use a tsp instead of a tbsp of baking soda, omit the cream of tarter, and replace the shortening with butter, and you will have the most delicious and dreamy sugar cookie ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
I have been looking for a good sugar cookie recipe for a while now. This one was awsome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
A really nice soft cake-like cookie. I really like my cookies this way. They are easy to make. And have a mild flavor and not overly sugary. If you are a dunker these are not for you! I have made these several time but didn't get around to review the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
These cookies are tasty but not wonderful. I would recommend halving the recipe. It was like the never ending bowl of batter. I must have already made 60 cookies and then just dumped the remainder of the batter into a brownie pan for pan cookies. The recipe said it made 30 cookies but they must have been the size of pie plates in that case. I was also worried about how runny the batter was but it did turn out fine, the batter doesn't spread much. Good but not great in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHEL V.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
I was so looking forward to trying this recipe, but was disappointed in the results. The cookies stuck on every baking service I tried. The recipe said to cook up to 13 minutes, but the cookies were still doughy. And, finally the taste, although satisfactory, was not good enough to warrant all the time and effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIBOWERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
Sugar Cakes are the best way to describe these I don't think they are really cookie like but thats OK we loved them just the way they are! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
Best sugar cake cookie that I've found thus far. By the last batch in the oven, I made the cookies by 1st liberally sprinkling sugar on the cookie sheet, using about two large tablespoons of dough per cookie and smoothing the tops because they stayed the shaped they dropped as during cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States