Amish Sugar Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Food Junkie
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
These have been my favorite cookies since I was a little girl. So light and not too sweet. My recipe calls for 4 cups of flour and the batter is perfect. I also just use milk soured with 1 Tblsp or lemon juice instead of the buttermilk. We like to use red or green sugar for the sprinkles on top at Christmas, red for valentines day, green for St Patty's day, and orange for halloween. These are the cookies of choice for my three kids and husband. The absolute BEST coffee cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food Junkie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
These were very good. They are definitely soft and cake like. They were like cupcake tops. Mmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
These cookies were easy and delicious. The batter is more like cake batter and I did add more flour as sugggested by other reviewers. They turn out simple and not too sweet. As such, they are addictive!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane D. (Portland)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
This reminds me of my grandmother's soft sugar cookies but a little dfferent. If you are expecting sweet sugar cookie, this is NOT the one for you. But it is the kind that I like best! I added a 1/2 c more flour and chilled for one hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Taos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
These taste amazingly like my grandmother's sour cream cut-out cookies. They were a huge hit as gifts at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
The flavor was quite plain. Maybe more vanilla? The batter (which I always think is a good indication of how a cookie will turn out) had a soda-y flavor. Maybe less? Also, I thought that 1 cup of buttermilk was too much. It was very sticky at just 3/4 cup. I put chocolate shavings in the batter, but the cookie flavor was only so-so. I will not use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
I love this recipe and they are so soft and fluffy, I did add more flour to make the batter a little bit thicker (batter was a little thin) that way they did not spread to far
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Worst sugar cookies/cakes ever. They baked out flat like pancakes. They fell apart. I followed the recipe exactly and this is awful. Was not worth the time, the expense and anticipation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Dobbs

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hobbs, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
Sugar Cake Cookies were something my Great Grandmother use to make for us kids, growing up in Indiana. As with most folks born prior to 1900, they cooked with good ole shortening, real butter and natural ingredients. Food tasted better too. I had longed to enjoy the tastes of childhood memories, but had lost the recipe of this favorite sugar cookie. By chance I was browsing the cookie recipes here and found this Amish Sugar Cake recipe. Turns out, this was almost exactly her old recipe. Almost, being she use plain ole Crisco shortening. This was before flavored shortenings. She lived to be 103. This recipe was AWESOME. I used parchment paper rather than greasing the baking sheet and extended the cooking time to 15 min, because the cookies are larger. I also sprinkled them with Natural Turbinado Sugar. Be prepared to make 2 batches, because they go fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
These cookies were very nice. Stay soft. Cake like inside. I put icing on them. Brushed on while still warm. Brown sugar, butter, milk, icing sugar. Turned out nice, icing hardened gave the cookies a "nice touch"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brockville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States