Amish Sugar Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
These are the real McCoy. If you follow this recipe as given you can't fail. My version is only 3 1/2 cups of flour. One cup of salted butter instead of flavored shortening. Only two eggs. Increase vanilla to a tablespoon. Only a teaspoon of baking powder. Omit cream of tartar. Increase salt to a teaspoon. Other ingredients remain the same except I sprinkle with sugar in the raw and bake on parchment paper at 375 F for 7 to 10 minutes. This recipe or mine, you can't fail if you follow the instructions. It is simple to make your own colored sugar, put 1/2 cup of sugar in the raw in a sandwich bag and add one or two drops of food coloring and shake. Much cheaper then store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
made this many times. This is not usual cut out cookies. Butter is more runny, but wait till you bake them we can't stop eating them. very delicious, soft and puffy. and yes that butter recipe makes a lot of cookies... is that a bad thing :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
vanilla wafers cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Wow, this is the same recipe that I got many years ago when I hosted a Tupperware Party. The Rep back then always had a recipe or two to share. Made this for my two teenage Daughters and their friends while they sat around the dining room table talking about everything under the sun! These girls are now Grandmothers. This makes fabulous caramel corn and it won't last long! Thanks so much for posting this recipe, I will make several copies so as not to lose it again! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
to me the recipe did just not hit it with me ... to be honest i think i could have done the same thing with less ingredients
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I used butter instead of shortening. Yummy flavor and a lovely light texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
These are awesome, they never last long even though the recipe makes about 3 dozen cookies. I make them about 3 times a month, I made the mistake of making them with butter one time and they flattened out like a pancake when they baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lynne8099
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This recipe is fabulous! The result is a soft cookie that remind me of those I use to get at the amish market when I was a kid. The only step I added was to drop the scoops of batter into granulated sugar and give them a light toss before baking. This gives the cookie a light, sugary crust. This cookie will make a regular appearance in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
These cookies are just ok. But having been born and raised in Amish country I can assure you that they are NOT real Amish sugar cakes. They came out way too flat and aren't dense like the authentic version. I even tried putting the dough in the fridge for awhile but that didn't help at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Genevieve

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Berlin, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States