Amish Sourdough Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2000
Great recipe. Very simple, tasted great! I wanted another way to use my sweet sourdough starter and now I have one. Everyone in the family (hubby and kids) loved them. There were none left! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2000
i HAVE BEEN MAKING SOURDOUGH PANCAKES FOR YEARS AND WAS GLAD TO SEE THIS ONE POSTED TO TRY SOMEONE ELSES RECIPE. I USED 'BISQUICK' FOR THE BUTTERMILK PANCAKE MIX AND EVERYTHING TURNED OUT DELICIOUS. THANKS FOR ANOTHER WAY TO USE MY STARTER. THEY ALSO SMELLED WONDERFUL! JANET IN CA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
Enjoyed this very much. Has a great flavor. For some added flavor I added diced apples and cinnamon. Also used Bisquick instead of buttermilk mix because that is what I had. I think any pancake mix would work great. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
Maybe it was the pancake mix I used, but I was expecting these to be a lot better. The outside was tough and hard to cut and the inside was so airy that you didn't feel like you were getting enough bang for your buck. The flavor was minimal, and I have a great sourdough starter. The best pancakes are somehow light and fluffy and dense at the same time, and these weren't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
I made these for supper the other night, and had mixed reveiws. I liked them, and so did my mother and father, but my younger brother and sister said that they were "gross". Whatever that means. I guess it just depends on personal taste. I will scale this recipe to serve just one though, and make it for just myself. I liked them quite well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2004
These weren't very good. The batter was so thin it was hard to flip the pancakes. I won't make these again. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2005
This is a good recipe for sourdough panckaes but I'm not a fan of sourdough pancakes and this recipe has not changed my mind. Not bad tasting but certainly not good or great. Sourdough bread is often heavy and likewise these pancakes are sort of dense and heavy...... not light and fluffy like normal pancakes..... and they have the characteristic yeasty/but sourdoughy taste which I don't think goes over too well in a pancake. For pancakes lovers I'd stick with regular or buttermilk but I don't like sourdough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
My family all loved these pancakes. They have a slightly sweet and sour flavor, but not overpowering. They melt in your mouth, and are slightly cake-like in texture. I used a cup of my friendship bread starter on day 10. I also used Bisquick. I will make these AGAIN, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
I thought these were great. Yes, they tasted a bit like sourdough, and they were light enough it was difficult to flip them, but we all loved the lightness and the sourdough flavor. In fact, my 5 kids thought they tasted so good they didn't want syrup or jam on their pancakes. This is a wonderful bonus...much less sticky!! Now I'm going to go look for a homemade buttermilk mix recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STORMIMAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fountain Inn, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KitchenWitch
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
These were good pancakes... I don't know what everyone's problem is with them. I followed the recipe exactly and they came out great. Can't say much for the "butter" and "syrup" that was available to me at the time, but the pancakes themselves were quite good. My only problem was flipping them and they burn easily... but it was the first time I've made pancakes in years so that could be from lack of experience. We ate them all :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States